KTM 690 Skid Plate

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by bruceca2002, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. bruceca2002

    bruceca2002 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Oddometer:
    397
    Location:
    Kelowna, Britsh Columbia and Lake Havasu City, AZ
    Who makes the best skid plate for a 690 enduro? Thanks for your opinion!!!
    #1
  2. It'sNotTheBike

    It'sNotTheBike Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Oddometer:
    704
    #2
  3. The Letter J

    The Letter J Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,643
    Location:
    Santa Maria, CA
  4. Steveman

    Steveman Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Oddometer:
    471
    Location:
    Austria
    Ktm
    #4
  5. crankshaft

    crankshaft Guns are for pussies

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Oddometer:
    14,036
    Location:
    Burlingtron,VT
    The KTM hard parts plate is made out of tin foil:lol3. The Renazco plate was designed and built by a friend and I here in VT, I still have the prototype:lol3
    Does anyone still have one on their 690? Curious to know how they held up..
    #5
  6. Steveman

    Steveman Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Oddometer:
    471
    Location:
    Austria
    Tin foil, I see ...
    #6
  7. Harty

    Harty Bloody Good Bloke!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    267
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    #7
  8. offworlder

    offworlder Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    262
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #8
  9. BackCountryCruizer

    BackCountryCruizer Gnarled Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,130
    Location:
    Willamette Valley
    #9
  10. MrHix

    MrHix Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Oddometer:
    384
    Location:
    MO
    #10
  11. Maurizio

    Maurizio 2 smoker

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Oddometer:
    163
    Location:
    Turin, Italy
    #11
  12. TheMuffinMan

    TheMuffinMan Forest Ranger Magnet

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Oddometer:
    8,815
    Location:
    Grand Junction, CO
    #12
  13. Lucifer666

    Lucifer666 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Oddometer:
    114
    Location:
    Belgium
    I have one from Rally Raid:

    <iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/rHwlMcqcJpA?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
    #13
  14. nibby

    nibby Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Oddometer:
    278
    Location:
    U.K. - Liverpool
    Does anyone know if you can get a couple of spare tubes in the GIT or Rally Raid skid plate? Looks like the RR has more potential for this as you can fit a water carrier.

    Would save a bit of space in my bum bag :D

    cheers
    #14
  15. BygDaddee

    BygDaddee Where do I get a pie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Oddometer:
    6,742
    Location:
    Brisbane Northside, OZ
    #15
  16. everetto

    everetto Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Oddometer:
    477
    Location:
    Central New Mexico
    SOLD - you guys convinced me, I just ordered one.
    #16
  17. BygDaddee

    BygDaddee Where do I get a pie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Oddometer:
    6,742
    Location:
    Brisbane Northside, OZ
    I fitted a couple of 1/2" radiator hose sleeves in the rear slip in mounts of the flatland skid plate to prevent vibration and noise.

    The black is noise deadening, but In hiensight i don't think that was really necessary

    [​IMG]
    #17
  18. dad2bike

    dad2bike Retired! Cranky Old Fart

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Oddometer:
    13,934
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    The one I got new a few weeks ago came with a large strip of something resembling tar paper stuck to the inside. I've noticed no vibration noise. Must be working OK. :D
    I like your use of hose for the rear mounts. I'll look to upgrading to that sometime in the future. The existing rubber bushings seem light.
    #18
  19. shipwrek12001

    shipwrek12001 Shipwrek

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,122
    Location:
    Ottawa
    I've got a Meca skidplate, which I can't seem to keep the bolts on. I keep breaking the bolts. At the moment I have a grout application spong between the bashplate and motor, hoping this will keep the bolts from breaking.... what a pita!:huh not the bash plate but the design of the mounting of it...
    #19
  20. MrHix

    MrHix Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Oddometer:
    384
    Location:
    MO
    The left mounting bolt on my Flatland plate seems to come loose after a time (3 - 4 hrs?). I am going to drill out the frame mounting tabs and install longer bolts with a nyloc nuts to hold it.

    Cheers,

    MrHix
    #20