KTM 790 Adv accessories, Modifications and Upgrades

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by Migolito, Feb 5, 2019.

  1. ramirin

    ramirin Ready to push

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    185
    Location:
    FIN
    Thanks for the advice.

    Is that Hella headlight your product or Rebel X? I'm not interested in big rally towers but rather something smaller than original, super enduro like setup..
  2. Nowwhat

    Nowwhat I'll Go Second... Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,027
    Location:
    On the Ground Laughing
    Well my warranty was void the second I picked up the bike...soooo....

    Seriously though....if you have a good relationship with your dealer....it is just headlights....
    kzeb likes this.
  3. alongat

    alongat Fesh Fesh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Oddometer:
    4,762
    Location:
    Windsor, United Kingdom
    For the 790, rebelX sells the rally kit. We sell the 950 super enduro version
    ramirin likes this.
  4. marchyman

    marchyman barely informed Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    12,151
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Finally... dealer called and says the heated grips I ordered are in. I'll pick them up tomorrow and hopefully install them Saturday so I'll have warm hands on the early Sunday morning ride.
    Fabricator and Velociraptor like this.
  5. spartanman

    spartanman regret minimizer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,257
    Location:
    Land of High Hopes & Low Taxes
    A bit of a job to access the accessory wiring in the headlight mount but well worth it. They work excellent!
    Rudderfeet, Venturer and marchyman like this.
  6. ibgary

    ibgary Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,476
    Location:
    Colorado
    I put the heated grips on this afternoon. Not very hard. At some time over the winter I think I'll pull the headlight off and take it apart inside. I think there is room inside to open up some space in the bottom. The bottom hatch fits so tight I afraid it will break. Anyone opened the light ass up yet?
    Knolff likes this.
  7. spartanman

    spartanman regret minimizer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,257
    Location:
    Land of High Hopes & Low Taxes
    I have, when I installed the heated grips. Yes, it’s tightly packed with wiring. Getting the center support released from the light housing tabs is a little tricky. I used a putty knife to pry in the plastic on one side, then inserted a piece of rubber sheet to hold it while prying the other side. Not a bad job, just takes time.
    Rudderfeet likes this.
  8. ibgary

    ibgary Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,476
    Location:
    Colorado
    Cool. Thanks for the tip. Was there room inside to move things around, or is it just jammed full of wires?
  9. spartanman

    spartanman regret minimizer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,257
    Location:
    Land of High Hopes & Low Taxes
    There’s room, but all of the wires and connectors- except those for the headlight -are strapped to a support that attaches to the steering neck. You’re looking at it when you remove the bottom cover. I didn’t try to relocate anything except the ACC1 and ACC2 connectors so they could be accessed through the cover. Not sure if there’s enough slack to move anything else.
  10. Thumper Dumper

    Thumper Dumper Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Oddometer:
    257
    Location:
    Durban South Africa
    You can get at ACC1 & 2 without opening up the headlight. You just need to loosen off the entire assembly and move it forward to gain access.
    If you do a search for removing the headlight to install cruise control I'm sure you will find it. As for the little hatch under the headlight, I found it best if you remove the centre of those stupid clips/tabs before pulling the entire clip/tab out. They go back in the reverse order.
    Rudderfeet and Migolito like this.
  11. mickd

    mickd crash test dummie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,328
    Location:
    sunshine coast,australia
    So whats the difference between acc1 acc2. Sorry to ask but i would like to wire up my gps
  12. alongat

    alongat Fesh Fesh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Oddometer:
    4,762
    Location:
    Windsor, United Kingdom
    One is a constant powered circuit and the other is ignition switched.
  13. mickd

    mickd crash test dummie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,328
    Location:
    sunshine coast,australia
    Cc1 being power all the time ?
  14. alongat

    alongat Fesh Fesh

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Oddometer:
    4,762
    Location:
    Windsor, United Kingdom
    I forget but...I do recall acc1 being the constant.
  15. mickd

    mickd crash test dummie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,328
    Location:
    sunshine coast,australia
    Thank you
    alongat likes this.
  16. kaertner

    kaertner Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Oddometer:
    997
    Location:
    Europe
    easy to test, switch bike off and test both connectors for any power.
  17. ibgary

    ibgary Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,476
    Location:
    Colorado
    I connected my phone holder/charger to Acc 1, because the holder has a switch and usb port. Convenient for charging intercom or phone while eating lunch. Handgrips are on #2.
    alongat likes this.
  18. Nowwhat

    Nowwhat I'll Go Second... Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,027
    Location:
    On the Ground Laughing
    My 790 is being used to prototype Rottweiler's air intake solution...dont know a timeline for production but progress is being made...

    Should make up for the skid plate weight gain hahaha
  19. kzeb

    kzeb Been here quite some time

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Oddometer:
    137
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    This is an available option from Rade/Garage LSK XH1 Led's, 900g for the set and EU approval for low, high beam and position lamp.

    [​IMG]
    ramirin, TrailTrauma and ibgary like this.
  20. ramirin

    ramirin Ready to push

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    185
    Location:
    FIN
    @Nowwhat I'm not afraid of warranty being void just passed over what ktm responded through my dealer when I ask for type of connector in headlamp :lol3 Motokeidas in Finland has been absolutely awesome with any issues I've had with roughly a dozen of Ktms during past decade.

    @kzeb Already in talks with Rade. Making these work with can bus could be a pain though (if needs to be different from 1090 setup) - or so I heard. I suppose one would need to know power consumption of the original and have resistor to compensate if using less watts to fool ecu not to throw error? Manual just says 'LED' for each light, no further info there..
    Nowwhat likes this.