KTM 790 Adv accessories, Modifications and Upgrades

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by Migolito, Feb 5, 2019.

  1. Vzuke

    Vzuke Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    317
    Location:
    Greeneville TN
    I haven't really noticed the slop on my bike either. I'll have to double check on my next ride. I'm usually very sensitive to that.
    On my previous rides that is one of the first things I have to adjust. When I grab some throttle I want it to be right there.

    Reminds me of a story (oh man, here we go again)...

    I have escorted many a rider to the DMV for someone to get their moto license. One time the rider had successfully completed his test and went back inside to finish up the paper work. I was checking out his bike, a classic cruiser, Yamaha Virago. I noticed the MASSIVE play in his throttle cables. I popped out my bikes tool kit and tightened it up for him. When he returned I told him what I had done. Reluctantly he did a test loop around the parking lot came back and said, "Put it back to the way it was, I don't like it!" But it gives you a more positive feedback. Now you won't have to grab two hands full of throttle. "NO." Okay, okay, I'll put it back. I guess it felt safer since it didn't react as quickly in power reduction mode?

    Okay, one more not related to the throttle, but the clutch. I took a coworker to the DMV unfortunately they wouldn't let him take the test on his bike because the registration had just expired. So he asked if he could use my bike to avoid a reschedule. I reluctantly agreed. I don't recall what bike he had but it was definitely a multi cylinder machine. My bike? A Yamaha SR500 Thumper. And he had not mastered, or dare I say, EVER used the technique of slipping the clutch while negotiating the slower parts of the course. It wasn't pretty as each power pulse L,U,N,G,E,D him through the cones but he did pass.
    tshansen likes this.
  2. AdvRonski

    AdvRonski They call me......Ronski

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,387
    Location:
    Finally made it to Fruita!
    They do come blank, but I think the color difference is due to the dirt staining the front side covers.
  3. CaseyB

    CaseyB Adventually Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,399
    Location:
    The Garden State
  4. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    5,613
    Location:
    Ontario .. Superior
    Well I guess it's good to know OEM plastic parts come without graphics. That may work out well for someone ordering new artwork. I wonder if they make a black side panel. Likely only orange or white right now until Acerbis or someone else comes to market.

    Promise - I won't remark on yer pasty white ass end again :D
    AdvRonski likes this.
  5. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    5,613
    Location:
    Ontario .. Superior
    With all that cantilevering, I'd like it more if the bolts in the OEM portion were a single through and through, and that first 3D part continued down so the bolt could go through it, taking strain off that weak link.
    Rudderfeet and kubcat like this.
  6. Vzuke

    Vzuke Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    317
    Location:
    Greeneville TN
    Hey, what ever happened to that guy that was going to get a longer clutch cable made?

    Oh wait... that was me.

    Okay, I tried Motions Pro a couple of times (email and phone), no luck.
    So I did a search and found that Barnett Clutch makes cables also.
    Sent them an email and they responded! Unfortunately they were on Holiday and were going to return on the 6th of January.

    Called them when they returned but the person that answered the phone said I needed to talk to the tech. He was busy so I left a voice mail. No response.

    Just gave them a call again today and the same person that answered before said I needed to send a sample cable.
    O k a y. So I'm ordering a stock cable from AOMC.mx to avoid Moto down time, and I'll send that one in.

    "Look Dana, you don't have to go into every excruciating detail about the process just send us the results!"

    Okay, ordering now.
    Migolito, kzeb and CaseyB like this.
  7. spartanman

    spartanman regret minimizer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,398
    Location:
    Land of High Hopes & Low Taxes
  8. 990s

    990s Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    110
    if you are still using abs: what brake lines did you use ?
  9. AdvRonski

    AdvRonski They call me......Ronski

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,387
    Location:
    Finally made it to Fruita!
    I used a front brake hose from a 950 Adventure S model, which I had left over from a high fender conversion for that bike. I did have to cut the stiffener off the hose, which is a little tricky to accomplish without nicking the hose itself.

    Edit- You can order a custom brake hose from Speigler with their online system that lets you choose a wide variety of color and fitting options.
    ramirin, 990s and windblown101 like this.
  10. Sfcootz

    Sfcootz fap:hoon Super Moderator Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Oddometer:
    26,049
    Location:
    kakistocracy
    Centerstand has been installed!
    Kinkysmurf and Migolito like this.
  11. slink

    slink Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Oddometer:
    235
    Location:
    Estes Park, CO
    Which centerstand did you get?
  12. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    5,613
    Location:
    Ontario .. Superior
    I spoke to the designer/builder in that thread, and he was very responsive and will be looking into building the ears that drop down into the OEM GPS mount for added integrity where it applies to heavier GPS's & tablets. I think you'll see more tablets/digital roadbooks as time goes on. Good to future proof designs now. I added up the weight of my future Pro 10" tablet with the powered cradle and it's 2.75 lbs combined. Thankful I'll have the HeadStraight all bolted on well before I try mounting my tablet up that high. Rob @Motopumps said he will try and look into prototyping this week, which blows my mind! It's absolutely remarkable the new paradigm we live in where a consumer can type out an idea, and a skilled vendor can take that and run with it within such a short time line. Add 3D printing and boy...I love the age we live it!
    voyer, Perun, Migolito and 1 other person like this.
  13. NorCalHack

    NorCalHack Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Just pickup a 2020 790R from the dealer, and have spent hours reading through this forum, very informative, and really funny at times. Thanks everyone. Now for a question, and a dumb question. First, after 20 miles of riding, 48 degrees outside, I stop and notice moisture on the screen. Nope it's under the screen from both sides. I thought this issue was taken care of? Second, that are the tree wires under the seat? One has a rubber boot around it, but nothing to protect the end?
    IMG_2089-1.jpg IMG_2088 2.jpg IMG_2088 2.jpg
  14. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    5,613
    Location:
    Ontario .. Superior
    SirWreckaLot likes this.
  15. SirWreckaLot

    SirWreckaLot Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Oddometer:
    112
    Location:
    Heartland
    KTM says moisture is normal at cold temps since it’s not a 100% sealed unit. Weird still.
    Wires 1 & 3 are for the optional alarm and it’s seat switch. No clue what 2 does. As TT said, 790adventure.net is helpful. You can pm me and I can try to help, not an expert though.
  16. Vicresendez

    Vicresendez Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Oddometer:
    157
    Location:
    San Diego
    Question fellas:
    I purchased the 790 adv r and had the dealer install the quick shift +(computer flash whatever they call it ) at the dealer, does it get activated after a certain amount of miles ? I can't seem to be able to scroll down to turn it on ? I called the dealer and the KTM Tech was out for the day and they never responded, ? I only have about 110 miles on the bike
  17. Sfcootz

    Sfcootz fap:hoon Super Moderator Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Oddometer:
    26,049
    Location:
    kakistocracy
    uh..: @Migolito ?
    Migolito likes this.
  18. Oscar

    Oscar Curmudgeon Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Oddometer:
    20,942
    Location:
    Karakariki, New Zealand
    Mine did it a couple of times in colder temps, but hasn't since.
    I told the dealer and they noted it, just in case.
  19. Migolito

    Migolito Prognosticator and MotoYogi

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Oddometer:
    2,534
    Location:
    S-Cal
    SW Motech.
    SW-MOTECH NA and Sfcootz like this.
  20. Sfcootz

    Sfcootz fap:hoon Super Moderator Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Oddometer:
    26,049
    Location:
    kakistocracy
    @slink there’s the answer. :lol3