KTM 790 Adv accessories, Modifications and Upgrades

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by Migolito, Feb 5, 2019.

  1. ramirin

    ramirin Ready to push

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,192
    Location:
    FIN
    Let me know if your pin sits on correct height with damper.
  2. 1coolbanana

    1coolbanana Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    6,823
    Location:
    NW Sydney, Australia
    Mines a little high but fine, sits about 2 mm above the arm.
    Maybe put a washer under your pin mount/holder where it bolts onto the frame.
    Is your base and damper seated properly?

    [​IMG]
    ramirin likes this.
  3. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    10,966
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    You probably have the stepped arm on your damper.
    kubcat likes this.
  4. 1coolbanana

    1coolbanana Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    6,823
    Location:
    NW Sydney, Australia
    Nah, its flat.

    Regardless, its the same kit, shouldnt they be all the same?
    ramirin and TrailTrauma like this.
  5. kubcat

    kubcat Riding is Eudaemonic Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    2,203
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Looks like you got the correct depth post. Originally Scott's shipped them with a stepped arm, but later they modified the arm from a stepped arm to a flat arm. Recent shipments from TCM had the flat arm but included the deeper post made for the stepped arm. They realized that and now appear to be shipping the ones modified to be shallower.
    1coolbanana likes this.
  6. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    10,966
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    I'm not saying you are wrong, but that would have to be one heck of a tall post to stick up like that with a straight arm. Are you sure you just didn't look real closely at the arm when you mounted it? I was sure that I had the Scotts pin with the slidable collar until I went out ot the garage and looked. I'll buy you a beer the next time I see you if you'll walk out to the garage and stick your head up under there and look at your link arm.
    1coolbanana likes this.
  7. kubcat

    kubcat Riding is Eudaemonic Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    2,203
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    You can buy me that beer, cause I can tell you FOR CERTAIN it's the flat arm and that's about the correct height, and I'm on the other side of the world (how DOES he do it?)

    I got the flat arm and the deep post. The pin has NO collar, despite what the manual says, so I added a plastic BB to solve the problem. My pin now sits about as high as 1cool's does.
    braaap! likes this.
  8. Migolito

    Migolito Prognosticator and MotoYogi

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Oddometer:
    3,141
    Location:
    S-Cal
    with all this talk about Flat arms, stepped arms, and the porno shot of the Scotts mounted....I just bought one! Now, please don't post any photos of the AXP skidplate or Rallz tires.....
    braaap!, CaseyB, BobcatSig and 2 others like this.
  9. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    10,966
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    Yabbut you aren’t @1coolbanana ,so you can’t look in his garage. Maybe be bought the kit before you and it’s been sitting, waiting for installation? Beer offer is only for bananaman!
    braaap! and 1coolbanana like this.
  10. 1coolbanana

    1coolbanana Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    6,823
    Location:
    NW Sydney, Australia
    Ill take it off tonight and have a look and take a pic.
    I could be wrong.
    I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken :imaposer

    Didnt take it that way :-)
    braaap! and SoilSampleDave like this.
  11. EvilSteve

    EvilSteve Not so evil, not so Steve. Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,054
    Location:
    SoCal
    9A3EBE38-6B0E-42B2-B36C-13A8348D08A2_1_201_a.jpeg
    Beeners, TrailTrauma, CaseyB and 2 others like this.
  12. 1coolbanana

    1coolbanana Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    6,823
    Location:
    NW Sydney, Australia
    Ill share my beer with ya :D
    braaap! and kubcat like this.
  13. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,993
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    Recieved a bluetooth OBDII reader and connected it today. Downloaded Torque Pro onto my tablet. Works fine with both my phone and tablet. Only had one error code stored in the ECU from running the bike without the TFT attached a few weeks ago and was able to clear it.

    The app is pretty cool and very customizable. Created profiles for the bike and the truck with it.

    Here is a shot of one of the screens I created on the tablet.

    20200310_195822.jpg
  14. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    10,966
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    That’s awesome! Does Torque still only run on android?
  15. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,993
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    Don't know for sure. I believe it says it works with IOS but I don't have a apple to test with.
  16. typeamark

    typeamark Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Oddometer:
    401
    Super bad reviews. Says doesn’t work.
  17. 1coolbanana

    1coolbanana Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    6,823
    Location:
    NW Sydney, Australia
    And heres me getting excited ...... Bummer :(
  18. windblown101

    windblown101 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    7,993
    Location:
    Star Tannery, VA
    Android rules! :)

    I was doing a bit of digging and saw there are other apps that are said to be better for folks using IOS platforms.
    ibgary, Nowwhat and typeamark like this.
  19. Gaulin

    Gaulin Orange (& Blue) Crush

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Oddometer:
    463
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canuckistan
    That's awesome windblown!
    I thought I wouldn't have a portable solution to pull codes on the road, but this may be it.

    Could you post a link to the bluetooth reader and adaptor ?
  20. marchyman

    marchyman barely informed Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    15,211
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    OBD Fusion runs on iOS. I've only played with it for a few minutes so can't really comment on its capabilities.
    windblown101 likes this.