1. eNewsletter Sign Up

KTM 790 Adventure

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by 2whlin, Oct 8, 2017.

  1. Cani41

    Cani41 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Oddometer:
    22
    Location:
    Nîmes, France
    She is here since two days.
    Already two days of work:

    searching for a indebted:
    IMG_0492.JPG
    Is it here? IMG_0489.JPG
    IMG_0491.JPG May be here? IMG_0493.JPG
    IMG_0492.JPG Definitly not there! IMG_0487.JPG
    Finaly, I found him! Yes, I promise! IMG_0486.JPG
    Benduro, ibgary, mtntrails and 9 others like this.
  2. Subaruvich

    Subaruvich Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Oddometer:
    229
    Location:
    EU
    I did have a test ride two month ago. I was surprised how good it was off-road even on street tires.
  3. alonad

    alonad Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Oddometer:
    484
    Location:
    new york
    hey guys what gauge wires do you use to positap the 12v wire?
  4. [Art]

    [Art] Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Oddometer:
    370
    Location:
    France
    Don't positap anything please. Use the proper connectors, or install the proper connectors. Positap are convenient, but a source of electrical gremlins.

    The gauge of the wire you need depends on how much current the hardware at the end of the line is going to pull, without knowing this info we can't answer the question.
    angustoyou, Benduro, ibgary and 2 others like this.
  5. Rudderfeet

    Rudderfeet Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Oddometer:
    991
    Location:
    Central Ohio, USA
    +1. I've used them, but they tend to get shaken loose on motorcycles, especially off-road ones.
  6. tshansen

    tshansen Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Oddometer:
    595
    Location:
    Norway
  7. Oceandiving954

    Oceandiving954 Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    413
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    you mean "casket" lol
    chippertheripper and tshansen like this.
  8. alonad

    alonad Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Oddometer:
    484
    Location:
    new york
    I have a hard top case that I use in the city or if I go two up on slab.
    And soft for real trips
    Tim Cullis and tshansen like this.
  9. alonad

    alonad Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Oddometer:
    484
    Location:
    new york
    The heated grips are used for the heated grips
    The 12v I will probably never use so I want to tap into it so I can run my usb and my GPS
  10. alonad

    alonad Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Oddometer:
    484
    Location:
    new york
    5amps
  11. AdamM001

    AdamM001 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Oddometer:
    209
    Location:
    Texas (by way of Norway and Nova Scotia, Canada)
    Brake light issue (790AdvR).

    Went for a small group ride today and was told my brake light is always on.
    Brakes are NOT always on (all 3 disks relatively cool- it is a switch issue).

    Tried pulling the brake light fuse; the ABS fuses, disconnecting rear Taillight harness - no help.

    I’ve noticed that when I pull the front lever hard and instantly let it go; at the most outward position of the lever for an instant, the light flickers off. (Relieving pressure on the front master cyl piston).

    Removed front lever and pushed piston a few times with a screwdriver - no binding or obstruction. Light stays on with lever removed. (Problem isn’t that it’s partially engaged. )

    I can only figure that it’s the hydraulic sensor; which I guess on these bikes is on the ABS unit. (Before this- I’ve only had my non-ABS 950 for years!)

    I tried opening front master res cover and pumping the lever to ensure no pressure/air bubbles there. All good.

    I can’t find any schematic for the 790 Adv; but if the same as the 790 Duke- it would be item 17 in the below schematic
    IMG_3885.jpg

    Does anyone know what I can do here - short of replacing it?
    It is of course a holiday today; and I’m heading on a 1000 mile road trip this weekend, leaving early tomorrow!
  12. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    9,441
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    Are you not seeing an error code?
  13. AdamM001

    AdamM001 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Oddometer:
    209
    Location:
    Texas (by way of Norway and Nova Scotia, Canada)
    ...currently trying to decide if it’s worth pulling the tank just to expose a sensor I’m not sure I can do anything TO!

    Does anyone know of any way at all to reset pressure on an ABS unit brake light switch?

    My only experience with hydraulic brake light switches has always been the non-abs setup; at the rear wheel - which is usually the opposite failure (broken/kinked wire not allowing the switch to sense the increase in pressure to turn light ON...)
  14. Oceandiving954

    Oceandiving954 Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    413
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Yes , drive it about 10 minutes and hit both front and rear brakes several times hard ! Turn off motor recycle it a few times , it will resume to normal.
  15. AdamM001

    AdamM001 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Oddometer:
    209
    Location:
    Texas (by way of Norway and Nova Scotia, Canada)
    No.. just rear brake light on always - as if the brakes are applied
  16. erey

    erey Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Oddometer:
    387
    Location:
    Bulle, Switzerland
  17. WillDieSoon

    WillDieSoon Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    97
    Location:
    Kamloops, BC
    I thought I read that the 790 had a CANBUS electrical system (i could be confused, happens a lot).
  18. AdamM001

    AdamM001 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Oddometer:
    209
    Location:
    Texas (by way of Norway and Nova Scotia, Canada)
    Thanks!
    I think I DID recall seeing that - but only reading the “a short trip to the dealer will fix this” part.

    I rode 150 miles today with it not going off... but then I guess i didn’t brake HARD at any time.

    Guess I’ll button it back up and give it a try...
  19. Subaruvich

    Subaruvich Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Oddometer:
    229
    Location:
    EU
    Bike is finally ready. First ride tomorrow.
    787558e2-61b5-4666-818d-b12ed3cc634f.jpg
    Benduro, enduro16, ibgary and 13 others like this.
  20. Tool.Nerd

    Tool.Nerd An idiot that owns a bike

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Oddometer:
    552
    Location:
    Southeast TN
    Forgive me for not knowing my dualsport tires by sight now, but which tires are those? TKC80s?
    hgwilliam likes this.