KTM 950 Prep for a "Long Ride"

Discussion in 'Dakar champion (950/990)' started by Sun Chaser, Mar 8, 2004.

1. Sun Chaser

Sun Chaser Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I've decided to set up a 950 up for a "long ride", like 6,000-8,000 miles, maybe up to Deadhorse, over 3-4 weeks. I am a newbie to this bike, learning curve nearly 90 degrees. Decided to take my pillion along who has complained the last two rides about my beemer seats and helmet buffeting. She's pretty good about not growling while riding, but I hate to beat her up again (just did a long 11 hour day on my stock Tenere 600 E, and she really howled that next day-seat/neck). If bike choice was up to her, she'd choose a Wing, but has let me delay becoming a recliner rider for the time being.
    Bike will see mostly highway, except for some 600 plus miles of high speed gravel. Will not need GPS. Am planning late June/early July run. Hoping to use the price difference between the BMW 1200 and the KTM to outfit the bike. Currently I plan to leave brakes/engine/suspension/drive train stock. Add Alum. KTM panniers, some lever guards, maybe safety bar from KTM. Maybe KTM tankbag and probably centerstand. I'm not sure stock tires will make the loop, so may go to a rock hard road tyre (most of the gravel will be high speed stuff, hopefully when dry up the Dalton).
    Any suggestions? The seat is # one to keep the lady happy, and when I tried a Corbin I could almost hear her saying, "No, not tonight honey." I think I can get a taller, maybe wider, windscreen special order, but since the pillion weighs in at 110 lbs wet, she is pretty well protected behind my bulk up front.
    I am interested in any and all suggestions.
    mattscott likes this.
  2. kirkmoon

kirkmoon Making up for lost youth

Oddometer:
    Welcome to the board. Sounds like a fun trip.