1. eNewsletter Sign Up

KTM 950 Remote Control

Discussion in 'Dakar champion (950/990)' started by Nightstalker, Apr 25, 2004.

  1. Nightstalker

    Nightstalker YO BUDDYPAL!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,011
    Location:
    Sunny Phoenix, AZ
    Installed the computer remote controller on the 950 yesterday. I found that I was doing a lot of switching between the time and trip 1 (my fuel to fuel mileage) and wasn't too thrilled with reaching up to the dash over my tank bag to get at the controls.

    You can tell that the mounting bracket for the remote control was designed for the two bolt mirror mounts of the thumpers. Placement of the control unit would be perfect on the top of the two bolt cable operated clutch mount.

    The placement as recommend by the installation instructions was too far from the grip, so I rotated it to this position.

    Attached Files:

    #1
  2. Nightstalker

    Nightstalker YO BUDDYPAL!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,011
    Location:
    Sunny Phoenix, AZ
    The cable connector was easy enough to find after removing the side panel.

    Attached Files:

    #2
  3. Nightstalker

    Nightstalker YO BUDDYPAL!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,011
    Location:
    Sunny Phoenix, AZ
    So, after a quick test drive, I was unhappy with the control unit in this location and re-engineered the mounting bracket.

    I bent the tab with the bolt hole 180 degrees to the other side. I then cut a slot through the tab to the hole since with the bracket now in a C shape, it was impossible to slip the bolt through the hole.

    Here's the reworked product.

    Attached Files:

    #3
  4. Nightstalker

    Nightstalker YO BUDDYPAL!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,011
    Location:
    Sunny Phoenix, AZ
    It sticks out. I would prefer something that mounted flat against the handlebar. At least it no longer interfers with the turn signal operation.

    The up/down buttons are reversed for the trip 2 correction. The mode switch is very easy to access, which is the primary reason I purchased the switch.

    I do believe that it may hit the tank bag. I haven't had a chance to test yet.

    Here's a side view shot.

    Attached Files:

    #4
  5. woodsrider

    woodsrider .........................

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Oddometer:
    587
    Location:
    Colorful Colorado
    Stalker:

    Did you get KTM part number 50314068000 (tripmaster switch with clamp - US$70.96)?

    Did it just plug right into the connector in your photo -- was it that easy? Thanks for the pics.
    #5
  6. Nightstalker

    Nightstalker YO BUDDYPAL!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,011
    Location:
    Sunny Phoenix, AZ
    I don't know what the part number, I'll have to retreive the sales slip from the garage filing cabinet (trash can). I only paid about $40 for the switch from my dealer. It does just plug right into that there connector. No sweat!
    #6
  7. Doug Matson

    Doug Matson Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Oddometer:
    3,219
    Location:
    Torrance, Ca.
    Woodsrider the tripmaster on your 450 works on the 950 also. I used mine off the 450 as I changed to another odo. Mounts closer to the mirrow mount.

    Attached Files:

    #7
  8. woodsrider

    woodsrider .........................

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Oddometer:
    587
    Location:
    Colorful Colorado
    Clean mount, Hazmat! Thanks for the pic.
    #8
  9. Gert

    Gert Made in Denmark

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Oddometer:
    383
    Location:
    Covington, GA
    Are there multiple part numbers out there ? I have one on order, the part number is 582.14.069.044. It should be around $40.

    Gert
    #9
  10. woodsrider

    woodsrider .........................

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Oddometer:
    587
    Location:
    Colorful Colorado
    Interesting...the part number you referenced is described in the KTMTalk parts lookup as "TRIPMASTER SWITCH CPL. ADV. 02". The retail price is $44.95. I wonder what the difference is between this part and the part number I referenced above (I got it off of the 450EXC parts lookup)? I wonder if it could be the clamp? Anyone know??
    #10
  11. Daan

    Daan Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Oddometer:
    67
    Hello!

    I did not buy the remote-switch, but rebuilt the pass(licht) switch into
    remotecontrol for the tripmaster!

    Weldet a new wire on it, and connectit it to the tripmasterconnection under the daschboard! (only used 2 of the 4 connectors).
    Dont remember witch 2, jou have to test that).
    It will cost you one hour work, and a bit of wire, no more!!!!
    So i can now chance mode from the handlebar, NOT chance the trip 2 up and down!!!!

    Greetings Daan!
    #11
  12. Gert

    Gert Made in Denmark

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Oddometer:
    383
    Location:
    Covington, GA
    I'll post a pic if it is any different. Should be in by the end of the week.
    #12
  13. Nightstalker

    Nightstalker YO BUDDYPAL!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,011
    Location:
    Sunny Phoenix, AZ
    Hey Doug, it looks like your tripmaster mounts directly to the handlebars and not to the mirror mount. Is that correct?
    #13
  14. barbasma

    barbasma 100% CAROTONE

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Oddometer:
    1,821
    Location:
    Sondrio (In the middle of the Alps) Italy

    go to www.ktminfo.com PART CATALOG... EXC450... ACCESSOIRES... the tripmaster mount is very cheap.... :thumb
    #14
  15. woodsrider

    woodsrider .........................

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Oddometer:
    587
    Location:
    Colorful Colorado
    I just went out and checked out the tripmaster on my 450EXC (same as Doug Matson's). The tripmaster from the 450EXC mounts directly to the handlebar via a small clamp. The way the clamp is oriented, the switch should fit very close to the mirror (as in Doug's photo). I just checked again; the entire assembly is KTM part no. 50314068000 (tripmaster switch with clamp). Retail is US$70.96.
    #15
  16. vgstef

    vgstef Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Oddometer:
    197
    Location:
    Canada
    I would like to know what fonction are you getting with the stripmaster switch ?
    #16
  17. Doug Matson

    Doug Matson Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Oddometer:
    3,219
    Location:
    Torrance, Ca.
    The tripmaster toggles through the modes with the single button, when you get to trip2 you can go up or down in tenths with the two buttons you still have to reset trip2 at the odo.
    #17
  18. vgstef

    vgstef Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Oddometer:
    197
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you for the info .
    #18
  19. gorgopodaros

    gorgopodaros Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    286
    Location:
    on the pegs
    Can you switch trip 2 readings to bigger digits as on 640 Adv ?
    #19
  20. Doug Matson

    Doug Matson Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Oddometer:
    3,219
    Location:
    Torrance, Ca.
    Don't know. I know on my EXC odo it does alot, to much, I could never remember them all.
    #20