KTM 990 Brake Light switches?

Discussion in 'Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)' started by x1valin1x, Jul 5, 2012.

  1. x1valin1x

    x1valin1x tommy

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Oddometer:
    121
    I have a 990 adventure and I'm wondering if any of you had sourced a different place to get the switch. Is such a little switch and for 60 something dollars that ktmtwins is asking......... I'm sure there has to be other places to get it. Links please and thankyou!:deal:evil
    #1
  2. Peanuts

    Peanuts Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,005
    Location:
    Beautiful but often rainy North Yorkshire, UK
    You can fit the rear switch to replace the banjo bolt in the front master cylinder.

    <TABLE border=1 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=3 width=460 bgColor=yellow><TBODY><TR><TD align=right>Part Number:</TD><TD bgColor=white align=left>50311051100</TD></TR><TR><TD align=right>Description:</TD><TD bgColor=white align=left>BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH REAR '98</TD></TR><TR><TD align=right>Retail:</TD><TD bgColor=white align=left>$24.74</TD></TR><TR><TD align=right>Your Price:</TD><TD bgColor=white align=left>$21.02 (15% discount) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

    Plugs into the same connector.

    Allows EXC/SX lever to be used so you can fit a shorty or folding version :)
    #2
  3. crazybrit

    crazybrit Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Oddometer:
    8,713
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Given the price I assume you are talking about the front microswitch rather than the rear hydraulically operated switch.

    As for price, list isn't $60. It's $46.08 and it's pretty easy to get 30% off of list.

    If it's anything like the other microswitches Brembo uses (i.e Marquardt switches on the EXC) they are a custom design made for Brembo. I'd get creative with something like this

    60011050000 BRAKE LIGHT SW. FRONT CPL. 03 $46.08
    #3
  4. DragonsTailR1

    DragonsTailR1 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Oddometer:
    120
    Location:
    Tejas
    I just bought an OEM one for the rear, $24 at the dealer.
    #4
  5. kingoftwins

    kingoftwins Adventurer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    98
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Hello all. Hope you inmates are stirring up the hornets nest. I checked into this Brakelight Switch on our site to make sure that our microfiche people were doing their job right and see that item listed for $24.99. If there is another switch that this is in reference to please let me know. Otherwise what I will do is reduce the price to the listed price of another online store to be competitive. Don't tell our microfiche people. They don't need to be calling us asking why we adjusted their stuff. Anyways we are always happy to try and either match another shops price or beat it if possible. Just let us know and we will crunch those numbers.

    #5
    shank likes this.
  6. DragonsTailR1

    DragonsTailR1 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Oddometer:
    120
    Location:
    Tejas
    See what you can do on the stealth sprocket while you are at it, seems to be about $40 above mkt price. Would like to order one soon.
    #6
  7. crazybrit

    crazybrit Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Oddometer:
    8,713
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I assumed (as I said above) that the OP was referring to the front brake microswitch, rather than the rear brake pressure switch.
    #7
  8. Peanuts

    Peanuts Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,005
    Location:
    Beautiful but often rainy North Yorkshire, UK
    I think he is talking about the front switch, but I recommended he use a rear switch as its cheaper and gives a greater choice of levers.
    #8
  9. sakurama

    sakurama on an endless build

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,647
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    It's the same as the Ducati - its like $6 from mcMaster. Look up micro switches.

    G$

    PS you coming to the shop this week?
    #9
  10. LukasM

    LukasM Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,490
    Location:
    On a RTW ride - currently touring the U.S.
    Not a fan of that idea any more, just had a rear hydraulic switch / banjo bolt start leaking on my EXC, ruined a day of riding with no brakes.

    This can never happen with the proper mechanical switch.
    #10
  11. OtownMike

    OtownMike Electron Pusher

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    308
    Location:
    Otown
    I successfully rebuilt the front brake switch on my 950. If you look at the switch there are plastic studs that are mushroomed to hold the halves together. I carefully drilled these out and opened it up. A little work on the contacts with some sandpaper and it was good to go. I believe I just snapped the halves back together and put it back on as the screw that mounts it to the brake lever bracket will also the halves together.
    #11
    erohver likes this.
  12. x1valin1x

    x1valin1x tommy

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Oddometer:
    121
    Was trying to find it on mcMaster. I found nothing that looked similar to that switch..... However since I posted this I sprayed some cleaner into the switch I have. :wink: It de-gunkified it and it works fine now. I guess it just had to much mud and stuff in it. Just found out my rear switch doesn't work either haha. so I'll have to order up one of those. I keep trying to get this bike inspected...... It just never happens. I did just take my old inspection sticker off my fork and scrub clean. I feel like the cops just look for the color of the sticker. If they see no color they figure it might be hidden by some of the plastic on the bike :lol3
    #12
  13. jkabouw

    jkabouw n00b

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1
    Location:
    Stgo Chile


    Dear All

    Just to add some data to this.
    I went to a shop that sell Chinese motor bike and parts and they had EXACTLY the same switch!!
    Only for US$ 3.
    So a no brainer.
    #13
  14. mpatch

    mpatch Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,106
    Location:
    N Colorado
    I just did the same only I used a soldering iron to "weld" it back together total job took about 15 min.
    #14
  15. mpatch

    mpatch Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,106
    Location:
    N Colorado
    I'll take that back. The switch worked fine for a while now it's intermittent again. Anybody find a cheap source for these?
    #15
  16. crazybrit

    crazybrit Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Oddometer:
    8,713
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I assume this is what people are talking about?

    60011050000 BRAKE LIGHT SW. FRONT CPL. 03 $39.09

    http://www.wemoto.com/parts/picture/fo-k60011050000/

    If "It's the same as the Ducati - its like $6 from mcMaster. Look up micro switches" or the same as some Chinese bike, maybe people can provide a SPECIFIC reference/part# as otherwise such comments are not that helpful.

    [​IMG]
    #16
  17. lucaso

    lucaso n00b

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2014
    Oddometer:
    4
    Just did this. Worked great!
    #17
  18. JPXT660Z

    JPXT660Z JP-ADV990R

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Oddometer:
    39
    Location:
    London (Fiji)
    Hi everyone,
    Need to ask;
    *Do I need to bleed my Rear brakes once I remove my rear brake light pressure switch?

    My Adv 990 R REAR brake light switch is faulty or probably needs cleaning... It works only when the foot brake is compressed quite hard. The front brake light switches are easy but the rear is connected to the rear brake master cylinder.
    Please advise if cleaning is possible or buying a new unit?

    Any help would be great :)
    Thanks
    JP
    #18
  19. dgjackson40

    dgjackson40 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Oddometer:
    291
    Location:
    Southeast Missouri USA
    No need to bleed when replacing and you will need to replace. I dont think cleaning will help.
    #19
  20. JPXT660Z

    JPXT660Z JP-ADV990R

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Oddometer:
    39
    Location:
    London (Fiji)
    Thanks for the help :) I'll take a look at the switch and will check the cable etc first before buying a new pressure switch.
    #20