KTM stealth upgrade cruise control behaviour?

Discussion in 'Parallel World (790/890)' started by EvilSteve, Jun 22, 2020.

  1. EvilSteve

    EvilSteve Not so evil, not so Steve.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    595
    Location:
    SoCal
    I had my bike in at the dealer for a tyre change the other day. When I got it back, my cruise control is behaving quite differently. Previously I could set my cruise and then accelerate for some time before it canceled cruise. Now, if I accelerate at all, it cancels the cruise control immediately.

    What are other people's experiences with cruise control? Does your cruise control cancel straight away?

    I was thinking maybe they reset the ECUs but they've done that before without it changing cruise control behaviour.
    #1
  2. el Pete

    el Pete toda su base

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,551
    Location:
    colinas del norte, california sur
    Mine occasionally cancels on dirt roads or really rough roads. I assume it has something do do with MTC kicking in.
    #2
    EvilSteve likes this.
  3. TimC63

    TimC63 BDR Addict Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Oddometer:
    105
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Evil,
    Mine works like yours used to. I don't have my manual with me right now but I seem to recall it is supposed to allow you to accelerate above the set speed for 20 (or maybe it was 30) seconds before it would disengage and no longer automatically resume the set speed.
    Sounds like yours no longer operates as it is supposed to...
    TC
    #3
    EvilSteve and V1Vr like this.
  4. V1Vr

    V1Vr just an average Joe

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Oddometer:
    168
    Location:
    49.2N 122.5W
    I agree with him ^^^^. The manual isn't close, but I recall reading that as well.
    #4
    EvilSteve likes this.
  5. sluagh

    sluagh not fade away

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    Oddometer:
    311
    Location:
    USA
    I use CC a lot and often accelerate with it still engaged and best I can recall it stays engaged and returns to normal operation when I release the throttle. The bike's been in the shop fairly recently. Hard to believe that KTM would sneak a minor tweak in like this. Far as I know, they are still not even installing the feature at all because of some kind of software problem.
    #5
    EvilSteve likes this.
  6. EvilSteve

    EvilSteve Not so evil, not so Steve.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    595
    Location:
    SoCal
    Thanks for all of your feedback, I was surprised because I use my CC a lot and was (reasonably) happy with it. I think it's possible that the ECU is relearning after a deeper reset but, I won't know until I've ridden a bit longer.
    #6
  7. braaap!

    braaap! Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Oddometer:
    4,769
    Location:
    Here and There
    QED. P35

    CC 30 Secs.jpg
    #7
    EvilSteve and ibgary like this.
  8. EvilSteve

    EvilSteve Not so evil, not so Steve.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    595
    Location:
    SoCal
    Wheird.
    #8
    braaap! likes this.
  9. masione

    masione masione

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Oddometer:
    42
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    The CC icon on the dash loses its brightness and slowly flashes when I exceed set speed (like when I'm overtaking). Cancels in about 30 seconds after that...
    #9
    EvilSteve likes this.
  10. EvilSteve

    EvilSteve Not so evil, not so Steve.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    595
    Location:
    SoCal
    I checked it again the other day, immediate cancelation of CC on adding throttle. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    #10
  11. kubcat

    kubcat Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,413
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    At least yours works ... I have to get that damn CEL cleared
    #11
    EvilSteve likes this.
  12. Gaulin

    Gaulin Orange (& Blue) Crush

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Oddometer:
    356
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canuckistan
    Possibly TC is kicking in, even very slightly will cancel CC. Maybe try very gentle throttle input to rule it out.
    Mine doesn't do this, even with a Motoz Desert HT, but maybe your TC is hypersensitive for some reason.
    #12
  13. EvilSteve

    EvilSteve Not so evil, not so Steve.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    595
    Location:
    SoCal
    Yeah, I suppose, I'm always getting around at TC-1 or off entirely? Also on the freeway in good, dry conditions. New tyres though so, idk.
    #13
  14. Nowwhat

    Nowwhat I'll Go Second... Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,745
    Location:
    On the Ground Laughing
    New tires....?.....soo soon?.....hahahaha...the last set I saw on your bike could have easily gone another 4000 to 5000 feet
    #14
    EvilSteve likes this.
  15. EvilSteve

    EvilSteve Not so evil, not so Steve.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    595
    Location:
    SoCal
    :jack

    Weird I know, I couldn't even see the threads?
    #15
    Nowwhat likes this.