Kuberg vs Oset

Discussion in 'Electric Motorcycles' started by chtucker, Sep 17, 2018.

1. chtucker

chtucker Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    looking at a MX style bike

Kuberg is recommending their X Force 50

Has anyone had side by side experience? I really like the idea of electric, but want something serviceable that I can get parts for
  2. Bucho

Bucho DAMNrider

Oddometer:
    I have no experience with Kuberg.

But we are on our second OSET. I put a seat on both of them. My kid sits most of the time and just rides around like its a dirtbike.
  3. Ron_Luning

Ron_Luning Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Which OSET are you comparing?

OSET makes the MX-10 which is a comparable form factor as an electric dirt bike rather than the rest of their models which are all trials bikes. The Kuberg Cross X-Force Pro 50 is significantly larger than the OSET MX-10, and the recommended age ranges barely overlap (6-12 Kuberg and 4-7 OSET).

Size-wise, although not the same intended use, the OSET 20R is a close match. However, it is a trials bike with lead batteries and far less power according to the specs. It costs >$1000 less than the Kuberg, but possibly for good reason.

Service on the OSETs from my experience is more or less nothing. They do have a conventional chain (no O-rings) which would be a major pain if used in a dirt bike instead of trials type environment. I have no experience with Kuberg, but on electrics there is just chassis maintenance. Anything else is because it broke.
  4. jeffk95z

jeffk95z n00b

Oddometer:
    I picked up 2 kubergs for my kids several years back. I have both their smallest unit, 12" Start and thet next size up 16" Trial-E. With seats for both, like Ron above, my kid sit mostly at this point. I have to do almost 0 maintenance - go over the bolts now and then and clean/lube the chain.

I've yet had to replace any parts but will be needing brake pads for the TrialE bike, they are easy to source.