Kymco Electric Superbike.

Discussion in 'Electric Motorcycles' started by klaviator, Feb 18, 2019.

1. klaviator

klaviator Long timer Supporter

Oddometer:
  2. klaviator

klaviator Long timer Supporter

Oddometer:
    Oops, There is already a thread on this.
    T.S.Zarathustra likes this.
  3. voltsxamps

voltsxamps Advolturer

Oddometer:
    Link below in case anyone needed a short cut

https://advrider.com/f/threads/kymco-supernex-electric-bike-155-mph.1349324/

An electric superbike coming from Kymco though, it’s worth mentioning twice :) Looking forward to hearing more about it; especially on their mated 6-speed gearbox. I rode Brammo/Victory’s Empulse with a 6 speed gearbox, so I’ve got some seat of the pants experience on what that feels like, as well as the pro and cons.
  4. T.S.Zarathustra

T.S.Zarathustra Been here awhile

Oddometer:
  5. ctromley

ctromley Long timer

Oddometer:
    I'm not that thin-skinned, it's very hard to raise my blood pressure and I remain in good health. But thanks for your concern. My point was simply that people theorize (incorrectly) that a transmission makes as much sense on an EM as an ICE bike, which isn't true. The fact of the matter is that cost, packaging and performance are all better if you increase current limit and upgrade the other affected components, rather than adding a transmission. I went on a bit to explain why because some people respond to that. Others need to see for themselves. This is one of those things where the trade-offs are hard to see clearly going in. Just trying to help people make an informed decision on a rather expensive purchase.

Anyone with experience on an Empulse TT care to comment? That would be the only real-world data that's available so far.