LC8 - Engineswap?

Discussion in 'Hard. Core. (1090/1190/1290)' started by Trooper038, Dec 20, 2018.

  1. Trooper038

    Trooper038 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi there, Adv.riders.

    I own a 1050 and like how the bike rides/handles (wheels make it very nimble in the twisties).
    The rev's after 6500 rpm are more 'dull' than say the 1090 or 1190.. but since they are in other parts basicly the same bike i was wondering...

    Is it possible to complete engine swap a 1190 engine into the 1050?
    And what parts would you need (Engine and ECU?)

    Thinking about this since the 1190 is getting older and more 'crashed' bikes are providing
    a market of used 1190-engines.
    #1
  2. Lewilewi

    Lewilewi Ride it like you stole it......

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Oddometer:
    3,074
    Location:
    Europe
    Don't bother, your opening a can of worms and dramas

    buy the bike you want instead
    #2
  3. Lewilewi

    Lewilewi Ride it like you stole it......

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    Oddometer:
    3,074
    Location:
    Europe
    1290r highly recommended, now cheap second hand...fast too...the suspensions superb once set up, the s suspension brings agro
    #3
  4. Trooper038

    Trooper038 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    1290 SAS would be really nice aswell (but expensive), you mean the R suspension is better?
    I ride 90/10 on/off-road .. so i have my doubts on the R-model, although they are a bit cheaper second-hand.
    #4
  5. Martyred

    Martyred Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    568
    Location:
    Germany
    You need the engine (?1? :-)), the suitable ECU, the throttle bodies unit... (Btw: The ABS module is different on the 1050ies, a bit smaler, like the 1290 SD one, and the connector is different as well...)
    #5
  6. redneckK20

    redneckK20 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    625
    Location:
    Hannibal, MO
    Probably be better off finding one that's been wrecked so you can scavenge everything you need.
    #6
  7. Marki_GSA

    Marki_GSA Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Oddometer:
    2,263
    Location:
    Scotland
    Sell it and buy an 1190/1290. As well as the engine you will need every ecu from the same donor. Controllers are all coded to talk to each other so won't talk to a foreign one and no dealer will recode them for you. Not even sure ktm allow. It in the software unless it is for a new replacement.

    If you are determined, probably best pick an R since no suspension computer will be needed.
    #7
  8. NOONE1

    NOONE1 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Oddometer:
    168
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    This is what I have heard from other riders and KTM reps. I have the R and love the suspension but I never rode the S to compare.
    #8
  9. Zuber

    Zuber Zoob Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    6,886
    Location:
    West of the West, Oregon
    Worms! Worms Everywhere!!
    #9
    Wodger63 and KTM 1190advR like this.
  10. Trooper038

    Trooper038 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ok, good to know that it's not all plug and play..
    I'll keep my eyes out for a good deal on the 1190 or 1290 in the meantime.

    How is the 1290R on pavement in comparrison to the S? - i ride 90% onroad, but i like the colorscheme of the R model.
    (And R-models seems to go cheaper second-hand.. i can always get an extra pair of wheels i guess..)
    #10
  11. brianbrannon

    brianbrannon They'll ride up with wear

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,457
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    The companies that can reflash the ECU and change throttle plate control get big changes in the 1050. It's probably tuned low for marketing purposes
    #11
  12. Marki_GSA

    Marki_GSA Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Oddometer:
    2,263
    Location:
    Scotland
    It's tuned low because it's a learner legal bike in the EU and its deliberately made difficult to change so people don't fiddle the system. 1090 is the full power version that was released when 1050 sales flopped.
    #12
  13. Its not Ginger!

    Its not Ginger! Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,079
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Sell 1050 and buy 1090/1190/1290 is by far the cheapest option - and without all them worms!
    #13
  14. Mackayla01

    Mackayla01 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Oddometer:
    353
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Aother option is to get the ecu’s from a wrecked 1090 and just change the cams in the 1050 motor. They are the only differences between the two bikes from a performance point of view. There are people that can recalibrate the 1050 ecu.... if you can find them.
    #14
  15. Marki_GSA

    Marki_GSA Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Oddometer:
    2,263
    Location:
    Scotland
    Won't work because the 1090 ecu won't talk to the original 1050 controllers that are left. There is a load of controllers on these bikes, even the 1050 and they all need to be coded to each other.
    #15
  16. Mackayla01

    Mackayla01 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Oddometer:
    353
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Look again at what I said..... “ecu’s”
    #16
  17. Marki_GSA

    Marki_GSA Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Oddometer:
    2,263
    Location:
    Scotland
    Look at the thread at how much work and cost that is!
    #17
  18. Mackayla01

    Mackayla01 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Oddometer:
    353
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    To me it’s a simple plug and play to change the ecu’s, maybe a couple of hours. The cams would help too but good results can be had with the stock 1050 cams still in place. The cost of the ecu’s from a damaged bike is the variable, if the OP is interested he would need to have a look around and see what is available and make the decision if it is worth it or not. In my opinion it would be cheaper than completely changing bikes... each to their own. YMMV.
    #18
  19. Mackayla01

    Mackayla01 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Oddometer:
    353
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    To me it sounded like Trooper038 was keen to do some upgrades to a bike that he already has and enjoys, I was just giving another option that would be easier with less work involved and cheaper than changing the whole engine and electrics package.
    The 1090 ecu’s are a direct replacement for the 1050 ones as long as they are all changed over at the same time to eliminate the lack of communication between the two sets.
    #19
  20. brianbrannon

    brianbrannon They'll ride up with wear

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,457
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    No need to change ECU's when you can just reflash the stock one with a different fueling maps
    #20