Leading Links

Discussion in 'Hacks' started by Strong Bad, Dec 17, 2014.

1. Strong Bad

Strong Bad Former World's Foremost Authority Supporter

Oddometer:
    I personally think that Leading Link (LL) front ends and sidecars go together like peanut butter and jelly. One of the selling point (to me) when I bought my first sidecar (a 2007 Ural Tourist) was the fact that it had a LL front end. We all know that a quality LL should have less flex and be more stable than "conventional" forks. A quality LL should also allow for a wider car wheel & tire combination.

The Aussies and the Euros both embrace utilizing LL on their rigs while here in the good ole US of A, you simply can't find an off the shelf LL supplier. Buying from out of country is not cheep nor easy. Finally, I'm not interested in a center steering setup.

So here is the deal, I'm a weldor/fabricator not an engineer or designer. I have access to all of the equipment needed (Benders, Notchers, water jet & plasma cutters and welders). That being said, I can't take over a race shop to play around with all sorts of different stuff. I can get in, do my work and get out of the way. The rig can't sit on the table while I scratch my ass & try to sort shit out.

So what I'm thinking is that I would like to build a LL front end for my rig (2007 BMW R1200GSA). With a "standard" motorcycle front fork set up mounting a LL is fairly easy as you can use the stock triple clamps. BMW of course complicates things with what BMW calls a "BMW Motorrad Telelever; 41 mm fork tubes,
    central spring strut, spring pre-load with 5-position mechanical adjustment". So yeah there is one shock and then there are ball joints and arms and WTF?!! Of course there is also completely different Telelevers for the 1150 and the 1200 (is the 1100 different too?). This makes following TwinTwin & Davebig with their 1150s interesting but not directly applicable to my 1200.