Leaking Clutch Master Cylinder

Discussion in 'Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)' started by dwj - Donnie, Jun 4, 2015.

  1. Lycan1

    Lycan1 Grizzly herder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,348
    Location:
    Calgary
    My bike has 91,563 km on it now. The old safety switch is a totally different design and not easily switchable with the new unit. The new Clutch master has a tiny box- type micro switch, rather than the small plunger-cylinder on the stock unit.

    I'll try to get some comparison pictures for you.

    Clipping the wires and a little solder and shrink tube takes only as long as the soldering iron does too heat. It is very easy, so I wouldn't bother trying to swap the switches.

    The new unit has a super easy and smooth feel compared to my old stock unit. I like using my clutch again.
    #21
  2. unaweep

    unaweep Uses lotsa band-aids

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    38,307
    Location:
    Western Colorado
    Awesome stuff, Lycan! :clap Thank you very much for posting this. :thumb
    #22
  3. Lycan1

    Lycan1 Grizzly herder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,348
    Location:
    Calgary
    Happy to be of help, since the OC has helped me many times.

    More research and it looks like the same type that the new 1190's are using, except that the 1190 has a 12 mm unit and is $273.81.
    #23
  4. dwj - Donnie

    dwj - Donnie Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Oddometer:
    19,099
    Location:
    North Carrollton, MS - Traveling on the Moto

    Mine has 52,000 miles or about 83,000 KMs, but it has been leaking for a while.
    #24
  5. Lycan1

    Lycan1 Grizzly herder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,348
    Location:
    Calgary
    I am fairly routine with my maintenance. I reverse bleed my fluid every 4000 km maximum, and sometimes less. It might have helped delay the failure. I had noticed the reservoir fluid being fairly dark before the cylinder started leaking.
    #25
  6. dwj - Donnie

    dwj - Donnie Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Oddometer:
    19,099
    Location:
    North Carrollton, MS - Traveling on the Moto
    I don't think that I have done it that often, but I have probably done it at least five times.
    #26
  7. Lycan1

    Lycan1 Grizzly herder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,348
    Location:
    Calgary
    I don't know how long it takes (or costs) to have a stock one re-sleeved, but for $150.00 (and since you have to take the old one off anyway), it's the way to go. It took me 1/2 an hour to do the switch and a little longer to clean the dust from under the headlight cowl while I had it apart. :wink:
    #27
  8. dwj - Donnie

    dwj - Donnie Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Oddometer:
    19,099
    Location:
    North Carrollton, MS - Traveling on the Moto
    You are probably correct. :deal BTW, I live on my moto traveling most of the time and will not get back to the states for a few more weeks.
    #28
  9. Lycan1

    Lycan1 Grizzly herder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,348
    Location:
    Calgary
    I lived with the leak for a couple of months, just checking the level in the reservoir every few days and topping up the fluid (level should be 4mm from top edge of res when level) as needed. I carried a bottle of mineral oil, and a small rag in my top case.
    #29
  10. dwj - Donnie

    dwj - Donnie Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Oddometer:
    19,099
    Location:
    North Carrollton, MS - Traveling on the Moto
    I always have a bottle on the moto. I have only added fluid twice in the last couple of months, so I am not having a huge problem. But, it needs to be addressed my next visit to the states.
    #30
  11. HeatXfer

    HeatXfer Bad knees

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Oddometer:
    852
    Location:
    S.F. Bay Area
    That Magura part No. is not designed for the larger 950/990 instrument pods. I see in this shot the handlebar mount not as "deep" as the stock mount, putting the lever closer to the control pod. Do you get full travel of the lever? Or does the lever/plunger hit the control pod before you get a full squeeze?
    [​IMG]

    Stock:

    Attached Files:

    #31
  12. Lycan1

    Lycan1 Grizzly herder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,348
    Location:
    Calgary
    No issues at all with contact since the new part's plunger operates at a different angle. I was careful in the placement so it doesn't interfere with anything on the handlebars. Trust me when I say it is an improvement over stock. They make two versions, and one is for switchpod clearance. I honestly don't know if that is what I have, but it works great!
    #32
  13. HeatXfer

    HeatXfer Bad knees

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Oddometer:
    852
    Location:
    S.F. Bay Area
    :thumb
    #33
  14. Apple Jam

    Apple Jam Forest Flyer Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    9,235
    Location:
    Somewhere high above Hood River
    Yep.
    Been leaking for two years.
    Flush & fill twice a year and it's been working fine.
    Black goo comes out everytime.
    I like Lycan's new Magura unit.
    I might have to buy one someday.
    #34
  15. l0st

    l0st Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    23
    I also had problems with my master, at the end, I had to drain the clutch system every 2000km. I solved my issues with custom made CNC maschined seals, I put 15000km on the bike since the replacement, no troubles at all. New seal are slightly bigger, for better sealing. There are a few traces of oil on the lever, but very little and the clutch is working perfect.

    Old one on the left, custom made on the right. There are two different seals on the pistom, I changed them both, only had pictured one :)

    [​IMG]

    I have some spare seals, since the production of one piece is almost the same as for 5 of them, if there is anyone interested, PM me :)
    #35
  16. zeropoint

    zeropoint Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    403
    Location:
    UK Wetlands
    ^^ PM sent. Thanks.
    #36
  17. Lycan1

    Lycan1 Grizzly herder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,348
    Location:
    Calgary
    [​IMG]
    Clutch micro switch


    [​IMG]
    Clearance when pulled in.

    [​IMG]
    #37
  18. jmvance1

    jmvance1 Mountain cruiser

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    228
    Location:
    Sierra Range, Three Rivers, CA
    Where did your choke lever end up?

    Thanks
    #38
  19. Lycan1

    Lycan1 Grizzly herder

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,348
    Location:
    Calgary
    Mine is an 09' 990 so no choke lever. They did sell a version that had the mount for the choke lever on the reservoir.
    #39
  20. jmvance1

    jmvance1 Mountain cruiser

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    228
    Location:
    Sierra Range, Three Rivers, CA
    Thanks for the information and I didn't even think about injected bikes not have a choke lever, duh. I'm going to put in all balls rebuild kit and mine today we'll see how that goes. If I still have issues with it I guess I'll have to get it sleeved or replaced.
    #40