1. eNewsletter Sign Up

'Lectric Clothing

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Rider, Oct 18, 2002.

1. Rider

Rider Spectacularly Correct

Oddometer:
    Okay, I've been riding for 27 years but when it gets cold outside, I usually wuss out and stay indoors and concentrate on other hobbies, primarily Makers Mark and various imported suds ... :beer
    I have occasionally done some winter riding but always behind big ol' fairings (R1100RT, K1200LT).
    Now with the GS in my garage and winter clearly on the way - it's in the fifties and I'm already freezing my arse off - and much less wind protection, it's time to consider some electric gear.
    A few questions:

* Which brand do you prefer: Widder, Gerbing, BMW, etc.?
    * Which type to you prefer: vest or full jacket?
    * Is it smart to get one with a thermostat control?
    * Do you have to hook them up to the battery terminals or can you just use a BMW plug to the accessory outlet?
    Also, any other tips would be appreciated. And keep in mind I have a somewhat limited budget, so the "Nuclear Powered Glow 'N' Go" models are simply out of the question. :D
  2. jdiaz

jdiaz .

Oddometer:
    Once you get a Gerbing jacket, you'll scoff at the rest of the stuff on the market. My current one is nearly 10 years old, and it still works pretty good. The new ones are even better.

Jon
  3. Rider

Oddometer:
    Jon, does it just plug into the accessory jack using a BMW plug?
  4. dizave

dizave Team Blitzed

Oddometer:
    It seems like most of them have an SAE plug, and then come with various adapters. The BMW plug adapter is common. I can't think of a reason why one brand adapter wouldn't be compatible with any other. So for example Rabia has a simple on/off adapter, without a coiled cord, which I believe annoys her. But I'm pretty sure she could buy the 'stich solid-state adjustable adapter with coiled cord and remove the annoyances.