Locus Pro

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by caymann, Oct 24, 2015.

  1. caymann

    caymann Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    93
    Location:
    southern NH
    I downloaded and paid for Locus Pro.
    So far i like it.
    However it wants you to pay for vector maps

    Are there vector maps available for free that i can use in Locus pro?

    Also in Locus pro, is it possible to do voice guided navigation when off road, provided i give it a GPX file with waypoints as tracks?

    thanks
    jim
    #1
  2. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,912
    Location:
    alabama
    The Locus thread here on advider is a great resource for questions/answers about both the free and paid versions of locus. I don't know if you missed it, or were overwelmed by the number of pages to read through, just wanted to point it out. Maybe it would be better to merge your new thread with it ? :)
    #2
  3. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    884
    Hi @ohgood , the Locus thread is indeed overwhelmingly long :-) May I ask you simple question here - how does the Lomaps subscription work? My understanding is that you pay once for the Locus Pro and you have it forever with any subsequent updates. The Lomaps, on the other hand, are paid for each individual update, and you can only use a paid map for as long as it is physically on your device - once a year had expired you may no longer download even the version you paid for, meaning that if you change your device or have lost the downloaded file, you have to buy it again. Is that correct?
    #3
  4. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Smoove, Smoove like velvet.

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    31,476
    Location:
    Nippon

    Maps are next to nothing......you should get a a number of freebies with the Locus Pro purchase

    You can get BRouter to do the vector tables that allow navigation
    .....and yes dumping a GPX in and doing turn by turn is possible
    #4
  5. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,912
    Location:
    alabama

    locus (app) updates are forever, and you can install it on all your devices, without paying for it every time, if you use the same Google account.

    locus (lomaps) map updates are described as being free. i just updated my lomaps and was not charged for their updates but it's listed as being subject to charges.... last i remember it was about fifty cents per state for the intuition purchase. you can always use openandromaps for free, or try out the John thorpe maps of you want to try something new.
    Screenshot_2019-04-19-02-59-50.png
    #5
    petertakov likes this.
  6. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    884
    Well, as far as I understand, it depends on what a "version" means. The last sentence reads that any new update needs to be purchased. Does that mean that I need to pay again every few months if I want to update my maps? The price of individual states is very low indeed but here in Europe a 2-3 weeks tour usually means travelling across quite a lot of countries and the total creeps up, especially if you need to pay it every few months. I understand that you have not been charged although you should have been (?) - the question is whether this some sort of bonus rule or just a glitch?

    The terms as described on their site are quite unclear and self-contradictory - I wonder whether this is on purpose or just a bad wording/translation. I'm still not clear whether if I purchase the PRO version and some maps, I will still have to pay for the updates of those maps? With OSMand it's very clear - purchase the apps and you can download the map updates for free forever. Unfortunately, OSMand still draws so much power that my charger can't keep with it. How' Locus in this regard if you have had the chance to compare them on the same device?
    #6
  7. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,912
    Location:
    alabama
    i have no idea other than the screen shot, and my experience above.

    locus typically uses 1%-3% per hour of use, so basically nothing compared to screen-on.
    #7
    petertakov likes this.
  8. chrisjk

    chrisjk Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Oddometer:
    677
    Location:
    NW Kent, UK
    @ohgood what/where are the John Thorpe maps? I haven't come across them.
    #8
  9. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,912
    Location:
    alabama
    I've been hesitant to talk about them much... they're pretty expensive and I'm still not convinced they're worth it

    Screenshot_2019-04-20-05-31-58.png
    #9
  10. chrisjk

    chrisjk Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Oddometer:
    677
    Location:
    NW Kent, UK
    Thanks!
    #10
    ohgood likes this.
  11. levain

    levain STILL Jim Williams Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Oddometer:
    10,134
    Location:
    Charlotte, Vt
    That hasn't been my experience. I think I've only paid for an individual state once, and free updates thereafter. If cost is an issue, use the Openandromaps
    #11
  12. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,236
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Updates on LoMaps cost money.

    Screenshot_20190421-090442.jpg
    #12