Locus

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by levain, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,964
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Download the KML file. I think I downloaded the KML and converted it to GPX. I would upload mine, but it's probably about a year old.
  2. Sonny S.

    Sonny S. Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,086
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ah I downloaded the KMZ file and open and saved in Locus
    11,294 points
    ohgood and flamingm0e like this.
  3. Sonny S.

    Sonny S. Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,086
    Location:
    Maryland
    Good to see there are a few out there though Screenshot_20200903-115005.jpg
    ohgood and flamingm0e like this.
  4. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,964
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Yeah, I throw that in it's own folder. LOL. I want to be able to turn that one off easily.
    Sonny S. likes this.
  5. Sonny S.

    Sonny S. Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,086
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yep it's got its own E-Free gas folder
    ohgood and flamingm0e like this.
  6. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,098
    Location:
    alabama
    thanks for reminding me to update my gas directory :-)
    Sonny S. and flamingm0e like this.
  7. Vanilo Petrucci

    Vanilo Petrucci Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Oddometer:
    58
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thanks! I came across openandromaps.org a few weeks ago through this forum (thanks, guys!) and downloaded a couple of them for my trip. I have Locus on a rugged phone without data plan or sim card so once I leave the house it's all offline. I'm actually quite happy with the Outdoor-opencyclemap, it's zooming in to Locus level that gives me trouble (I can't change that layer, can I ?). Not to the extend that I want to drop the app but it would come in handy to view some names.
    Not much I can do about it then?...
  8. kubcat

    kubcat Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,839
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Does anyone know how to turn off the island labels when using the North America openandromaps? Every island in every river and large creek is labeled with a name in a font the same size as the town and city names. Its is super annoying and quite pointless.
  9. Tijuana_Taxi

    Tijuana_Taxi Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Oddometer:
    949
    Location:
    Boise,Idaho
    Are you using the Elevate or Element theme as well? You could try turning off the "landscape features" but that also turns off peaks, bodies of water etc. It does still show the peak symbol tho.
  10. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,964
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I use the Adventure theme. I don't know of any bodies of water to verify. I'll look.
  11. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,964
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    This is what an island looks like at a lake

    Screenshot_20200911-143416_Locus%20Map.jpg
  12. kubcat

    kubcat Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,839
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    There is only a "general" internal theme under map themes, so no choices to try alternatives.

    For reference, here is what it looks like.

    20200911_154818.jpg

    Attached Files:

  13. Tijuana_Taxi

    Tijuana_Taxi Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Oddometer:
    949
    Location:
    Boise,Idaho
    With the Elements theme from openandromaps here it's what it looks like with the landscape features turned on and off. Is this what you're after? Screenshot_20200911-145308_Locus Map.jpg Screenshot_20200911-145329_Locus Map.jpg
  14. kubcat

    kubcat Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,839
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    That looks like what I want. Apologies in advance, but I'm a real noob. Where would I find the elements theme? I though all that was needed was to download the state/region I was looking for in the proper format for the target OS/App, so I grabbed the NY map for android on Locus + POIs. As I said, after install there was only a "general" theme.
  15. Tijuana_Taxi

    Tijuana_Taxi Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Oddometer:
    949
    Location:
    Boise,Idaho
    Go here on openandro
    Screenshot_20200911-140156.png then install direct to locus here
    Screenshot_20200911-170120.png

    Then when you enable either the Element or Elevate theme you can choose what you want it to show. If you uncheck "landscape features" it won't show all the labels.
  16. kubcat

    kubcat Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,839
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    So i tried that from locus, and I keep getting an error message that the zip file is empty. Any ideas why that is? Its not, it just doesn't wait for the download to complete before it tries to unzip it, so it fails every time. I'd like to solve that problem too, since that is what happened when I downloaded the maps.

    Anyway, I went on to the manual method and downloaded the Elevate 4 zip file manually and then extracted it to the correct locus _themes folder. Restarted Locus repeatedly, rebooted the tablet repeatedly, extracted the files repeatedly, but still locus will not show any themes where it says they shoudl show up. Very frustrated with this app at this point. It just does NOT do what the manuals and help files say it does.
  17. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,964
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Mine does?

    What does your themes folder look like? Did you extract all the files directly into the folder?

    Screenshot_20200911-190137_Solid%20Explorer.jpg
  18. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,964
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Since I can't seem to post more than one image at a time...

    Screenshot_20200911-191454_Solid%20Explorer.jpg
  19. kubcat

    kubcat Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,839
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    This is what gets extracted from the zip file I downloaded. As you can see, there is only one sub folder - ele_res, yet you show both elements and elevate sub folders. Is something missing from my download?
    7AB3DB59-9568-4CD9-A3FB-59430AF55B71.jpeg
  20. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,964
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    It would appear so. I removed all my old themes and just downloaded the theme again using the Locus button on the website.

    Screenshot_20200912-104930_Solid%20Explorer.jpg