Looking for some riding pals (I'm near Miami)

Discussion in 'The Sandbox - AKA Flatistan' started by RiderForge, Mar 4, 2019.

1. RiderForge

RiderForge 2014 CRF250L

Oddometer:
    I'm new to South Florida (Pembroke Pines) and, predictably, having trouble finding trails to ride within a reasonable distance. I'm accepting I will be forced to trailer a bike at least 2 hours north.

I was in Fort Lauderdale for 2 years for a residency before briefly moving to Asheville NC. A job opening and a complaining girlfriend brought me back to South Florida after only 6 months. In the end I did get a promotion and we're surrounded by her family here.

Before moving back I sold my gen1 klr650; my first dual sport and taste of dirt. I'm without a bike at the moment, but it won't take me too long to save for another and a trailer. I figure it'll probably take a while to find some people to ride with anyway. I'm thinking my next ride will be a lighter 250 to 400cc dual sport.

I'm about to turn 35 this week. I'm originally from NH where I rode strictly street, primarily alone, for 8 years. Dirt is still new to me. I've only ever ridden on easy fire roads but I loved it. I'm converting to dirt as much as possible. In the past I rebuilt all of my bikes, did all the maintenance, and I'm self taught. I prefer second-hand Japanese bikes. I'm a hospital pharmacy manager with IT training in school again for another business degree. I don't really care much for work or my job; I'd rather be outside. I hope to retire as early as possible.

Let me know if you're around the area or at least riding anywhere near the middle of Florida. I will probably end up doing weekend trips or single days if it's reasonable to cover the ground in a day.
  2. sperz1

sperz1 Lame Adventurer Supporter

Oddometer:
    massholejim and YJake like this.
  3. DaveJFLA

DaveJFLA Cranky before Coffee

Oddometer: