Mapsource without a GPS

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by 9Dave, Dec 19, 2007.

  1. 9Dave

    9Dave Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    13,560
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    For all of you who have a GPS on the way but have maps or tracks you'd like to play with, this could be your ticket. Found this tip on another moto board. It came via a mapmakers forum so don't know the original source to give credit to.

    If you don't have any map data (City Nav, Topo, whatever), you aren't going to get any roads or geography, but you should be able to download tracks and view them. Or if you have your maps already, but haven't gotten your GPS delivered, this will give you the ability to install the maps and work with them.

    Try at your own risk. Since I do have Mapsource already installed, I can't replicate the process. But the source I heard about it from is very reliable, so I bet it works.

    Here's the trick:
    Post up your experience if this works for you.

    Dave
    #1
  2. Michhub

    Michhub Major Medical Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Oddometer:
    4,284
    Location:
    San Tan Valley
    My company paid out Profit Sharing this week :clap so I in turn bought a Garmin 60CSX...enroute from Amazon...I'll let you know how it works out.

    **Update** Total noob here, the install worked and MapSource fired up without issues...now what do I do??????? Danger, Learning curve ahead....

    MikeH
    #2
  3. 9Dave

    9Dave Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    13,560
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Glad to hear that worked.

    At this point, you can't really do anything worthwhile unless you have some map data, or download some gpx files from the regional forums above. Hopefully you bought some map data with your gps so you aren't relying on the base map on the 60 for any significant navigating.

    Dave
    #3
  4. Michhub

    Michhub Major Medical Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Oddometer:
    4,284
    Location:
    San Tan Valley
    #4
  5. Cyclepath

    Cyclepath Lost wanderer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,332
    Location:
    SW. Wa. state
    i tried it. works just fine. :1drink thanks for the tip. i was trying to win an older copy of mapsource form e-bay and was not having much luck. thanks again.

    cyclepath
    #5
  6. 9Dave

    9Dave Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    13,560
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Cool - and just to be clear. The Mapsource "operating" program comes with every map data disk, like Roads & Rec, Topo, etc.

    What's required has been a GPS to install and use the program and data. Once Mapsource is installed, you don't need the GPS every time you want to use Mapsource.

    This tip allows you to do the install without the GPS present for the initial install.

    Dave
    #6
  7. 9Dave

    9Dave Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    13,560
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Just got a new laptop and have not yet installed my maps or Mapsource. Took the opportunity to try this trick. Worked just fine. The latest version of Mapsource even has a really basic world basemap. Pretty cool.

    Dave
    #7
  8. Gills

    Gills Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    31
    Location:
    Hendersonville, NC
    Yes, the program works great. By the way, if you already have a Garmin program installed you may have problems. Here is a cut/paste from another thread that solved my problems:

    Download your FREE (legal) copy of Garmin's "MapSource: Waypoint Manager" as such:

    1. Download and install "Garmin training center for either MAC or Windows" (HERE)

    2. Download and install "Garmin Mapsource Update" (HERE)<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
    <o:p></o:p>
    <o:p></o:p>
    <o:p></o:p>
    IF THIS IS YOU:
    I have Mapsource (Topo, Metroguide, ect... )....after installing it I get an error that says "There is a problem with the MapSource Registry. Please re-install MapSource and start it again" when I run it.

    I have uninstalled, repaired, re-installed about a dozen times and continue to get this message.


    HERE'S YOUR ANSWER:
    First, uninstall all MapSource products using the "Add / Remove Programs"
    (If you haven't already done so)


    Then edit your computer's registry manually as follows:


    Click "START" - select "RUN"
    Type in "REGEDIT" (without the quotation marks)
    Click "OK"

    Click on the following "+" signs in the following order:
    + HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    + SOFTWARE

    Under the "Software" key, locate the "Garmin" key.
    Click on the "Garmin" key to highlight it and press "delete"

    THEN, click on:
    + HKEY_CURRENT_USER
    + SOFTWARE

    Under the "Software" key, locate the "Garmin" key.
    Click on the "Garmin" key to highlight it and press "delete"


    Close the registry editor

    Re-install your MapSource programs


    It worked out great.
    #8
  9. 9Dave

    9Dave Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    13,560
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Might want to try a lighter font:dunno :evil
    #9
  10. Gills

    Gills Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    31
    Location:
    Hendersonville, NC
    Yes, I know. As this was my first post I can definitely say it was a "Noob" post. :D

    By the way, you can download free US and Canada maps here:
    http://www.ibycus.com/ibycususa/

    These seem to work OK. I will see how they load when my 60CSx comes in.
    #10
  11. 9Dave

    9Dave Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    13,560
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Fixst it for you.

    The Edit button in the lower right hand part of the screen is your friend.

    Dave
    #11
  12. mlandon

    mlandon Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Oddometer:
    26
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains
    Seems to be a cool fix to not having the maps to begin with! Way too much to learn, need a long day and a couple of beverages...
    #12
  13. Aanarchy

    Aanarchy Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,413
    Location:
    Limbo
    This worked like a champ on my discontinued Garmin GPS 76. Garmin website offered ZERO help on what to do with this device, how to download waypoints, etc.

    Worked with the supplied cable, no USB required, downloaded all route waypoints and data.

    Cool. Thanks.
    #13
  14. alexcorral

    alexcorral Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,666
    Location:
    Danbury, CT
    I downloaded both programs and when trying to run mapsource I get an error message that reads "Windows imaging component is missing or corrupted. Mapsource could not be started"

    Any tips?
    #14
  15. SiouxsieCat

    SiouxsieCat Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Oddometer:
    243
    Location:
    KCMO
    I got a Nuvi 500, which does not come with MapSource.

    I found those instructions a while back and have had no problem using MapSource after following them.

    -Cat
    #15
  16. Steve W

    Steve W Old Grouch

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Oddometer:
    730
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains of Alberta
    Which Windoz version? If it's XP, you need Service Pack 3.
    #16
  17. Jeff@TheQuadShop

    Jeff@TheQuadShop TAT survivor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    7,803
    Location:
    Crestwood, Kentucky
    This seems to no longer work. When I download the Mapsource update a popup says "No Mapsource product found, install terminated"
    #17
  18. cwc

    cwc . Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,355
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #18
  19. Laser145

    Laser145 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    558
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Just did this today on a Mac.

    Installed Training Center first, then Basecamp... Note that the links from this thread prompt you to instal Basecamp, not MapSource...

    But it works.
    #19
  20. rgoers

    rgoers Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Oddometer:
    372
    Location:
    Northern Utah
    Was wondering what this was all about in the first place... :huh

    Mapsource is a stand-alone program. I have been using Mapsource for close to 10 years. You have NEVER needed to have a GPS in order to use it. Maps, yes. GPS, no.

    Personally, I STILL prefer Mapsource over Basecamp. Mapsource loads instantly and is very responsive. Basecamp is a bloated slug, comparatively.
    #20