Moab for a noob

Discussion in 'The Rockies – It's all downhill from here...' started by High Octane, Sep 26, 2019.

1. High Octane

High Octane Long timer

Oddometer:
    I’m a complete dirt noob. I’ve spent 40 years on road bikes but bought my first dual sport yesterday. Ktm 690r. Another noob and I are hoping to go to Moab next month. Is there a realistic safe ride for noobs in the area? My buddy wants to do the white rim but not camp. Would this be doable for noobs to ride out and back, and not do the full loop?
    wbunt and sealsam like this.
  2. MountainsandRivers

MountainsandRivers loves dirty things!

Oddometer:
    Yes, white rim totally doable in a day on the 690s. Onion Creek is another favorite as well as Chicken corners/Hurrah Pass.
    OnOff, Rogue_Ryder, wbunt and 3 others like this.
  3. shrederscott

shrederscott Long timer

Oddometer:
    Hi

Welcome ! ! !

The KTM 690 is an excellent bike. Unfortunately, it is a heavy bike to pick up when you dump it.

Moab is a great place to ride beginners to experts can all find fun and challenging trails.

Moab riding is demanding physically and mentally, you are often riding near cliffs or other dangers.

As you are new ... do not underestimate the fatigue factor. You WILL drop your bike, it will be draining to pick up and ride on.

I suggest you purchase ether the latitude 40 or National Geographic Moab map set. It's a 2 map set from ether company.

I think you will find the trail rating's and descriptions helpful that latitude 40 map have.

I would NOT recommend The White Rim Trail (wrt) as your 1st ride. The wrt is about a 150 mile loop from Moab and back. The actual trail is shorter a little over 100 miles. There are no bailouts on this trail, you must complete it or turn back. I would recommend you try a shorter trail to confirm your comfort level before trying the wrt.