Moto Guzzi V85 TT

Discussion in 'Moto Bellissima: All Other Dualsports' started by cabanza, Nov 7, 2017.

  1. DesmoDog

    DesmoDog Desmo was my dog. RIP big guy.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Which connector are you refering to? The one I'm talking about has two posts and is there to power the (uninstalled from the factory) USB under the seat. But I'd be fine plugging into that one instead.

    I thikn the other two I referred to (red and grey) are an OBD port (red) and the connector for the MIA box (grey).
  2. 30yGS

    30yGS Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    Townsville, Qld, Australia.
    There is a USB kit (2S000315) which looks like it will plug straight into the connector and then plug into the tool tray aperture
    Night_Wolf likes this.
  3. Mozman16

    Mozman16 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Oddometer:
    100
    Location:
    Sydney Oz
    I've had to do mine and it's dead easy, assuming you can find a nice flat road to sit between 29-31 km/h, no more, no less, for however long it takes to 'calibrate' :muutt
  4. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,049
    Location:
    Maine
    I can't think of a flat road within 50 miles.

    That's not usually a complaint.
    DesertPilot likes this.
  5. Bent-Rim

    Bent-Rim Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Oddometer:
    11
    Location:
    Larkspur, Calif.
    ^I'll bet Red Green could rig up a treadmill to do your calibrating on.
    Grinnin and DesertPilot like this.
  6. KRGaijin

    KRGaijin Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Oddometer:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, that's the one I'm talking about -- the one for the under-the-seat USB connector.
  7. McGoff

    McGoff Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Oddometer:
    46
    Location:
    Sydney
    this was on a facebook group, it shows an optional USB outlet fitted to the bike
    I don't know anything about it, it may be a factory option
    Screen Shot 2020-07-03 at 5.27.49 am.png

    Attached Files:

  8. KRGaijin

    KRGaijin Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Oddometer:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, that's exactly it. The plug is there; this picture shows the optional USB part plugged into that socket and then mounted in the mounting spot. All the bikes have that socket, but none of them come with the USB port already installed, that's something you buy separately.
    Night_Wolf likes this.
  9. DesmoDog

    DesmoDog Desmo was my dog. RIP big guy.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Ahh... now I see what you mean. I had only seen pictures until I looked for it on my bike and saw this:
    [​IMG]

    Then I went fishing and found the it dangling behind the sidecover. Pulled it out and saw that yep, there is a connector I could use there.

    But where does one buy just those pins? I'll google it but have to think unless I can find them locally it'll have to wait until I'm ordering something else from anywhere that has them.

    Anywhos, thanks for the info, I'll put it to use eventually!

    EDIT: I ended up ordering a bunch of pins, seals, and even a couple connectors from Digikey. Shipping was $4.99, and it's worth that to not have to leave the house and search for them. What the heck, now I can make leads for numerous things, like, um, well... you know, all that stuff that needs power. Ah crap. I just realized I forgot to add the third size of pins for larger wires. D'oh!
  10. DesertPilot

    DesertPilot Long timer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,058
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    Got the report from the claims adjuster, made an appointment with the shop, arranged a truck, and if all goes well, the bike goes to the shop on Monday :clapUnless something unexpected turns up, the work would be replace one fork, engine bars, instrument cluster, brake pedal, and some plastic, and do some minor stuff. WIth luck, they'll have it fixed just in time for the next pandemic lockdown...
    OtterChaos, mnuttall87 and MrKiwi like this.
  11. KRGaijin

    KRGaijin Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Oddometer:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Glad you found it. You're not the only one, I've heard from a couple of guys with Travel models who thought they didn't have the connector at all. On mine it was attached to the side of the battery tray, like you saw in that first picture, but I guess at least some left the factory (or the dealership) with it just dangling loose down the side. My understanding is that every bike should have one.
    Night_Wolf likes this.
  12. relayer4u

    relayer4u Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Oddometer:
    133
    Location:
    Henderson, NV USA
  13. BOOTLACE

    BOOTLACE Bikie Scum. Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Oddometer:
    12,025
    Location:
    Methane Central..(Sth Gippsland)
    Be interested to hear the costs of some of that stuff. Particularly the TFT unit......
  14. MrKiwi

    MrKiwi old enough that I should know better Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Oddometer:
    16,331
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Having Oxford heated grips fitted to my goose today. When I rode it to the dealer this morning it was only 5 degrees C, looking forward to not having cold hands anymore.
    Night_Wolf likes this.
  15. DesertPilot

    DesertPilot Long timer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,058
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    They may only have to replace the mounting bracket, but if I find out, I'll let people know.
  16. 30yGS

    30yGS Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    Townsville, Qld, Australia.
    I have just recalibrated mine after replacing a rear tire (puncture damage), went to a flat straight road near home, set it to calibrate, got up to about 30, the screen said maintain constant speed and it was done in about 2 seconds. :-)
    Night_Wolf likes this.
  17. MrKiwi

    MrKiwi old enough that I should know better Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Oddometer:
    16,331
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Alright, this is a lot better. I like the wider diameter handles too, easier with my long fingers.

    IMG20200703153618.jpg
    Night_Wolf likes this.
  18. Night_Wolf

    Night_Wolf Leg Humper

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    9,940
    Location:
    Lat: N 90°00'00" Long: N/A
    I knew my Travel was supposed to have the connector, but I couldn't "find" it initially. Had to pull the battery to grab it; friendly fella in England is sending me a connector with bare leads so I can use it to "trigger" the relay of the Eastern Beaver 3 circuit fuse panel.
  19. motomoda

    motomoda Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Oddometer:
    2,166
    Location:
    Oz
    Exactly. It's neither hard nor arcane in its implementation. Choose the function in the dash, ride the bike, it doesn't take far, when the indicator stops flashing? Job done!
    DesertPilot, Reddog* and MrKiwi like this.
  20. BlueBluer

    BlueBluer Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Oddometer:
    38
    Location:
    Dijon - France
    The brand name of those connectors is Supaseal and you can get them easily of all sorts of websites - there is also a crimping tool for them that's really handy if you are going to mount a few of them - can be done with thin pliers but not as neatly. As for the USB kit ... what a ripoff ! I saw it at 71€ on Ebay.... for a connector and a USB socket (and maybe a fuse....). I'm sure it could be assembled for about 15$

    Something like this (14$) ... a bit of DIY ...
    [​IMG]
    Night_Wolf and DesertPilot like this.