Motorace MITAS Tires update

Discussion in 'Vendors' started by Motorace, May 23, 2014.

  1. cyclopathic

    cyclopathic Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,285
    If only TKC80 could last! Mine was pretty much finished at 4500mi and at 8k it was down to nothing couldn't do another 100mi.
    DesertDonor likes this.
  2. Bento

    Bento 2017 GS Rallye

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Oddometer:
    234
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think 4500 miles ot 7200km is quite a lot for a TKC rear?
  3. FireSpaceLigers

    FireSpaceLigers Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Oddometer:
    332
    Location:
    Cleveland
    To cyclopathic’s comment about the dakars being a PItA to get off:

    I’m only willing to remove them with a sharp pocket knife. Then they’re not going back on.
    Bitte ein Bit and DesertDonor like this.
  4. DesertDonor

    DesertDonor Deep Sand and Mud Detector

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    265
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Yeah...to me the $25 to have a local shop do the install was completely worth it.
    Bitte ein Bit likes this.
  5. cyclopathic

    cyclopathic Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,285
    Bought a roll of 3M tape and 8mm valves.. they are going on wheels together with E07s. There isn't any effing way I will be installing tubes with them, period.
    Motopsychoman and The_Eccentric like this.
  6. klebs01

    klebs01 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    314
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Any updates on timing of the PLUS fronts? Thx!
  7. Motorace

    Motorace Black and Round pays the bills.

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Oddometer:
    737
    Location:
    Springfield, Mass
    We have our stocking orders in to Mitas. Best guess by what we are hearing is July / August by the time they hit the USA.
    DesertDonor likes this.
  8. J.Mo

    J.Mo Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    81
    Location:
    Belgium
    Got the tkc 80 front and mitas e07 plus rear fitted today to my r1200gs. What kind of pressure do other people with this combo run on road?
    I'm used to riding more road based tires and typically ran 36 psi front and 40/42 rear depending on load.
  9. OzRider64

    OzRider64 Friggen slow Adventurer.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    652
    Location:
    Hobart Tasmania
    Mate, I run this combo on my 2010 cam head GS.
    I just run standard road pressures for this bike 36F-42R.
    When I do some logging roads around Tas I run solo road pressures, 32F-38R.
    Hope this helps.:thumb
  10. cyclopathic

    cyclopathic Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,285
    Expect opposite. I found rear E07 lasts longer when you run 32psi regardless of load. It flattens contact patch and reduces center wear.

    With regards to TKC80 front has weird split central knob wear under braking you need to run 40+ to reduce it good luck
    Bitte ein Bit likes this.
  11. J.Mo

    J.Mo Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    81
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thanks for the info. I will try the regular pressure for now and start making small changes and see what it does.
    Wish I could ride around Tassie trails too... Been there twice and it's amazing. Sadly I live in a crowded west European country.
  12. J.Mo

    J.Mo Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    81
    Location:
    Belgium
    Interesting to read. But with whag you said I would be running front 40+ and back 32 which would be very strange. Guess I will experiment a little from now on.
  13. cyclopathic

    cyclopathic Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,285
    J.Mo likes this.
  14. jmar

    jmar n00b

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Oddometer:
    3
    Hello , I have a question since my beloved mitas stopped production of the E07 rear tyre size in 150/70-17 . I have a R1200Gs 09 and I want to put the good old rear E07 ( not the plus model) because I want to make about 20.000 km on my upcoming trip . The plus model doesn't last so many km's.

    So the question is , can I put the 140/80-17 instead of the rear stock 150/70-17? I have the black rims from adventure model.
    I believe that I will not have a problem going down from 150 to 140 width and the height will be about +7mm (14mm in total)
    I think in 140/80-17 E07 's have also more aggressive pattern because they don't have the center strip. Will they last in tarmac the same km's? (About 18-20.000)


    What's your opinion? Has anyone done it in a Gs? I don't want to put heidenau's or the plus model of E07's...
  15. cyclopathic

    cyclopathic Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,285
    It could be a tall order to mount it. I have successfully mounted 150/70 on 160/60 rim (IIRC it was only 0.25" wider) and it was almost impossible to seat. They're very stiff so even without valve it's hard to get it close enough to pop even with big compressor.
  16. Jbrjbr21

    Jbrjbr21 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Oddometer:
    590
    Location:
    Marion Il
    People with 170 rears use the 150,
    And it works rather well I've heard.
    jmar likes this.
  17. jmar

    jmar n00b

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Oddometer:
    3
    So you say that a professional tyre shop couldn't pump the tire? I believe if you go a number down its easier
  18. cyclopathic

    cyclopathic Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,285
    I am mounting tires myself and I have done enough to see the issue. We had to use ratchet and it failed many times. I looked and can't find now but Mitas list acceptable rim width for each size and the size of rim was at upper limit.
    jmar and DesertDonor like this.
  19. Hambino

    Hambino Earthbound Misfit Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Oddometer:
    101
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I bought the 2019 690R a couple of months ago and it came with TKC80s. The 690s delivered outside of the USA are coming with the E07+ I believe. Not the older E07. Am I correct??
  20. kokos79

    kokos79 Nomad

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,454
    Location:
    Greece
    No, they're the older E07s .
    cyclopathic likes this.