1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

    Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

MOTOSCAN APP for BMW Motorcycles

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by filterwrench, Jun 9, 2018.

  1. JstAnthrGuy

    JstAnthrGuy Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Oddometer:
    13
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I think I’m getting it now. In order for the obdlink (any model) to work on a GS, for which it was not designed, you need that other little app, and that other little app is only available on Android. I have an android device around I can use. Thanks!
    #61
    Mikieman and dwheil like this.
  2. TuonoBiker

    TuonoBiker Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,263
    Location:
    So.Central PA
    No. I had to buy the next version up ... I think it was around $28 USD.
    #62
    dad2bike likes this.
  3. 1or2Cylinder

    1or2Cylinder Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Oddometer:
    126
    Location:
    Western Mass
    Thanks.
    #63
  4. jaschil69

    jaschil69 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Oddometer:
    117
    I use the Motoscan app on an old android that I had laying around and a 20 dollar OBDII adapter. Works great and very inexpensive. It does work with relearning the new TPMS sensor. Can't beat the price of around 20.00 for a replacement TPMS on Ebay.
    #64
  5. bigjohnsd

    bigjohnsd '14 BMW R1200 GS Adv Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Oddometer:
    592
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    #65
  6. Don Flamenco

    Don Flamenco Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    365
    Location:
    Portland, OR.
    That makes no sense; there's an IOS app for it, and the obdlink mx+ comes with IOS setup instructions.

    I have not been able to get my obdlink mx+ to work with my iphone, using their ios app.

    I get this error message:
    obdlink_error.PNG
    #66
  7. Bobo

    Bobo Are we there yet? Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Oddometer:
    396
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    The Obdlink app will work with your car, not your motorcycle. To communicate with your motorcycle, in addition to the Obdlink, you will need the Motoscan app and an Android phone. The Obdlink app cannot be running along with the Motoscan app. Any chance you have an old Android phone laying around?
    #67
    deadflagblues and Don Flamenco like this.
  8. Don Flamenco

    Don Flamenco Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Oddometer:
    365
    Location:
    Portland, OR.
    Well thank you for that explanation! Yes, I do have an old Android phone.
    #68
  9. filterwrench

    filterwrench Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Oddometer:
    935
    Location:
    Langley BC CANADA
    TPMS that works with BMW ECU for $20?
    #69
  10. bigjohnsd

    bigjohnsd '14 BMW R1200 GS Adv Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Oddometer:
    592
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    #70
  11. ontrip

    ontrip Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Oddometer:
    959
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Completed my 10,000 kms reset on my 2017 R1200r today.

    Purchased an OBD link MX+ OBD2 Adaptor device has from Amazon.ca $89CDN and the Professional level licence from Motoscan $37 CDN

    Had to use my wife’s Android as I currently have an iPhone.

    Went smoothly once I figured out how to remove the plug from the OBD2 plug on the bike and read the quick start sheet of the device to see where the connection button is.

    Also, once you have purchased the professional license, you need to log on again so it updates that you have the license, as it gave me an error message initially.


    28B8D9FA-E580-4101-BB22-1363BD716082.jpeg 46A69D30-8DFF-4E87-8F4C-0A38D723C41A.jpeg

    Attached Files:

    #71
  12. Jimkav

    Jimkav Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Oddometer:
    240
    Location:
    Long Beach ca
    Compatible with apple computer?
    #72
  13. Candubrain

    Candubrain Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Oddometer:
    554
    Location:
    Kincardine, ON, Canada
    I don't get it, the box does say transform your IOS, Android, Windows device into a scan tool.
    Just not the iPhone?
    #73
  14. ontrip

    ontrip Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Oddometer:
    959
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    There is an IOS app for the scanner but you need to use Motoscan to interact with the BMW motorcycle and that app is only available in android.

    I guess you could use IOS if you are working on a car or other vehicle other than a BMW



    #74
    deadflagblues and Candubrain like this.
  15. neilc

    neilc Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    355
    Location:
    GEELONG
    First let me say I am not very tech literate so as I read here to read fault cods and clear them and to reset service intervals on my 2017 R1200RS ( with the oblong connection NOT the round ) I would need a WIFI OBD11 adapter and the MOTOSCAN Professional APP is this correct. Also can the MOTOSCAN be used on a lap top or only a android phone on tablet and after perches can it be installed on more then one devices EG a tablet and a laptop I prefer using a laptop but I can see that to have it installed on a phone would be an advantage when traveling .
    #75
  16. ontrip

    ontrip Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Oddometer:
    959
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Motoscan is an Android application, so you can use it on phone or android tablet.

    And yes, you will need to purchase an OBD2 adapter like the OBD Link LX or MX units

    There is extensive discussion about which clones work, I took the safe route and purchased the MX + and it works well.

    I have reset my 2017 R1200R and I also reset my friend’s 2017 R1200RS using the Professional level of Motoscan.

    You can install it on more than one devise as it is tied to your Google Playstore profile.
    #76
    Looking Around and deadflagblues like this.
  17. neilc

    neilc Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    355
    Location:
    GEELONG
    Thanks for that now I need a Google Playstore profile
    #77
    OzRider64 likes this.
  18. rdbonds

    rdbonds Breaker of Things

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Oddometer:
    221
    Location:
    Dallas, GA
    If you have a free "@gmail" email account, you already have a Google Playstore profile. Otherwise, it's just a matter of signing up for a gmail account.
    #78
  19. bigjohnsd

    bigjohnsd '14 BMW R1200 GS Adv Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Oddometer:
    592
    Location:
    Spearfish, SD
    Professional Level allows service interval reset, you need the Ultimate Level to cycle your ABS Pump and to perform some other "Service" functions
    #79
    eri and Vnuh like this.
  20. Vnuh

    Vnuh Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Oddometer:
    37
    Location:
    Thailand
    Can you provide a quick description how you used the app to perform the ABS bleed? GS911 has a guide/procedure for it but not Motoscan. Thanks.
    #80