Mountain Goat Bike Recommendations

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by Johnny Bouncewell, Feb 7, 2019.

1. Johnny Bouncewell

Johnny Bouncewell Surly

Oddometer:
    Hey fellow inmates. I've been on a quest to buy a lightweight, durable, cheap, and most importantly tractable on goat trails type bike. I'm an exploration geologist and will be using this for work which means I'm getting paid to explore on a bike (life goal achieved)...think literal game trails, side hills, and slow going. Basically using this to ride to challenging places, get off, and look at rocks. Not the other way around, I swear.

Generally speaking, I've gotta a fair amount of off-road and adv experience doing this crap for nearly 20 years. The suspension snob in me typically leans euro but I'm totally fine with a Japanese machine for this kind of work. This isn't blitzing thru the desert on an open classer, its plodding through a high desert forest at 1-10 mph.

A few basic requirements:
    100 mile round trip range
    Damn good hill climbing and knarly terrain ability
    Cheap (under 3k or so)
    Spark arrestor
    Light--under 200 wet would be AWESOME but probably not realistic short of a modern trials machine
    Low seat height to reduce chances of injury when I inevitably bail from a bad decision
    Nothing that scares my safety officer (no CRRRRRF450XXX type rigs)

So far I've narrowed it down to a handful of machines but am looking for suggestions from the unwashed masses. Here goes with my perceived pros/cons in no particular order:

Modern-ish Trials bikes: Great slow speed tractability, stupid light...BUT....comically small fuel tanks, reliability can't come close to more common machines, where does my ass go/exhausting for 100 miles?

Vintage-ish Trials bikes (TL125/250 type rig): Great slow speed tractability, on the lighter side, low seat height and place for my ass...BUT....fricking old with parts issues, seriously thin on the ground these days