My 1090 Adventure R Experience

Discussion in 'Hard. Core. (1090/1190/1290)' started by AZ Desert Dog, May 17, 2019.

1. AZ Desert Dog

AZ Desert Dog To Ornery To Quit

Oddometer:
    I wanted to share what I learn about the 1090R from purchase to......well what ever happens in the future. I am a YouTube vlogger so some will be videos and some I will explain in written posts and pictures. Here the deal. I have been riding for 43 years. All kinds of bikes. The constant has been dirt bikes and dual sport. In 2008 I started riding these behemoth Adventure Bikes and loved them from the start. Owning Japanese and premium brand Euro bikes I have a decent perspective on the what is offered. I still ride a dirt bike and enjoy desert blasts and single track. I am a minimalist. I don't care about unnecessary electronics, wind protection, vibration or cup holders. That is what directed me to the 1090R in the KTM line up. High horsepower is not a consideration, however, torque is. I learned that from the Tiger 800 XCx I owned. Nice bike but gutless when you are riding in gnarly stuff. The price point is great and I bought a 2018 hold-over for less than what I would pay for a used bike in my local market. Hopefully this will help some folks looking to buy one or provide some porcelain throne reading/watching for the 1090R fan boy. Post questions and I will do my best to answer them. Thanks for checking out this post. Ride safe.
    Trackownus Maximus likes this.
  2. AZ Desert Dog

Oddometer:
    This is the first day pick up at the dealership. Not much here but I wanted to document the initial ride. I can't stress enough that buying a bike as a hold over will save you money and headaches. Yeah the dude in Peoria with last years biek has the right tires and a set of luggage you can "live with" it doesn't have a warranty and the dealership hasn't run it out of oil twice in the last year (been there).
  3. AZ Desert Dog

Oddometer: