My build(s) - a scratch built frame and chair etc

Discussion in 'Hacks' started by guzzirelic, Feb 16, 2019.

1. guzzirelic

guzzirelic Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Hello all. I thought I'd finally share my sidecar work from several years of happy hacking.
    I have lots of photos and tend to get carried away with descriptions so up front I'll say sorry for using too many words in my posts. I'll also say that I'm NO EXPERT but what I've done has worked out in most ways. Hopefully some of you find it entertaining. Your comments are most welcome but remember; this all in the past. I know many things could have/should have been done differently but it's too late to tell me that now...
    I built the first rig in 2004. I had a CB750K7 and purchased what I believed to be an American Spirit Eagle sidecar. I designed my mounts for the motorcycle and had the welding done by a professional shop. The outfit handled well, no steering damper and performance was adequate.

[​IMG]
    The sidecar body as purchased.

[​IMG]
    And the chassis.
    I painted everything, fixed the seat, replaced the tire and wheel bearings and added a plate of steel under the seat. And did the attachment and set up.

Sorry for the poor photos but here is the upper front mount. Its a two piece clamp that attaches to the frame tube with four bolts. With a tab to connect to the strut. (picture a cube, sliced in two and bolted together around the frame tube)
    [​IMG]

And here is the lower front mount. As you can see it ties into both lower frame tubes.
    [​IMG]

The rear lower bolts to frame in several places.
    [​IMG]

And finally, the rear upper which carries across to the left frame tube, under the seat.
    [​IMG]

A better view of the front mounts. (the gear clamp you can see is for the Windjammer mount)
    [​IMG]

A few photos of the bike on the set up platform.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

And ready for the first sea trials.
    [​IMG]