"MY" Dual Sport Bike Ratings

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by OhioPT, Dec 29, 2007.

1. OhioPT

OhioPT Adventure Wannabe

Oddometer:
    I POSTED THIS AT ANOTHER ONLINE FORUM IN RESPONSE TO A QUESTION ABOUT WHAT DUAL-SPORT BIKE TO BUY. THE PERSON PLANs TO RIDE AT LEAST SOME OFFROAD AND WOODS, SO HERE IS HOW I REPLIED:

Well, I own both a DRZ400S and a KTM 450exc (road each one 1000 dual-sport miles this year), and have ridden a friends KLX250S, so I have some experience with these bikes. Like others have stated, which bike is best for you depends on what type of riding you plan to do, and what your budget is.

Ultimately, if you plan on doing a lot of offroad and woods riding, you will probably eventually end up trailering/trucking the bike out to different areas that are further away. I pretty much trailer my bike to any area more than 30 minutes from home, for one MAIN reason: TIRES. Knobby tires wear really quickly on the street, so it's just not worth riding on the street if I can trailer the bike. Based on this philosophy, I recommend getting something light-weight if it fits your budget. Again, this is ONLY if you plan to do a lot of OFFROAD/WOODs type riding.

If you're riding MOSTLY dirt/gravel roads, then you'll be better off getting a less maintenance intensive bike, which are unfortunately heavier in weight. Having said all this, here are my recommendations for each type of riding:

EDIT 12-30-07 to include the G650X (which I had forgotten about)

I. Primarily Offroad and Woods Riding with SOME dirt road/gravel/street use
    1. KTM 450/525exc (you can convert a pre-2007 pretty easily to make
    it legal)
    2. Yamaha WR450f or WR250f with dual-sport kit (Baja Designs,
    homemade, etc)
    3. Suzuki DRZ400E with dual-sport kit
    4. Husky TE450/510 (gear box is too narrowly spaced for dualsport)
    5. Husky TE610 (and probably the new KTM 690E)
    6. Any other 4-stroke enduro with a dual-sport kit (would have to have
    e-start for me)