My first solo trip: Helsinki - Iran - Helsinki

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by niklasbackman, Mar 11, 2009.

1. niklasbackman

niklasbackman Helsinki-Istanbul-Tehran

Oddometer:
    Hi forum,
    I'd like to share some pictures and stories from my last autumns trip from Finland to Iran, and back. This was my 2nd motorcycle trip (first being Route 66 with 3 buddies in 2007), and first trip solo on my own bike (BMW R1100GS).

Short background: I'm a Finnish visual designer, 31, live in Helsinki. I've always traveled a lot, mainly backpacking in South-East Asia and some in Northern Africa. I enjoy traveling on my own and heading to lesser visited areas, where I feel I can still meet the "true" people. Might sound a bit silly, but I try to avoid western world and culture on my journeys. I find it uninteresting and too ..familiar.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]I have a blog too, but it's in Finnish.. :) Www.chef.fi/iran

No driver's license:
    For some reason, I got my (car and motorcycle) license just before I turned 30(!). The next weekend I bought my first bike, had never driven a motorcycle before. I knew exactly which bike I wanted, so it was an easy deal. The same summer I drove the classical Route 66 on Harleys with 3 friends of mine. Next time, I knew I'd travel on my own. Had a note on my diary "Next trip solo to Morocco or Norther Libanon".

[​IMG][​IMG]
    I dropped the bike in front of the shop.. it was heavy! But boy I was a happy owner!

Learning the mechanics: I had no experience with cars or motors, so I had to learn to fix and service my bike, too. Thanks to active motorcycle communities, I got help and learned the basics fast. It turned out to be a simple bike to service.

[​IMG]
    My girlfriends brother welded a wider foot, and I did some (pretty ugly, but functioning) electrics for GPS and battery recharger + extra lights.

[​IMG]