my most ambitious build - 79 KZ400 basket case - fully disassembled

Discussion in 'Some Assembly Required' started by noman, Jul 11, 2019.

1. noman

noman Long timer

Oddometer:
    picked up a 79 KZ400 stalled project yesterday, in plastic tubs. came w/large pile of new parts, including a NOS points plate, shocks, Flanders bars, brake pads and shoes, full set of motion pro cables, full athena gasket set, H4 headlight, LED tailight, allballz stem bearings, front/rear wheel bearings, new fork seals and shields, SS bolt kit, more. just found a complete spare head in a tub yesterday. PO is a welder by trade, and fab'd a custom sub-frame and a nice 'glass seatpan. gave me a thumbdrive w/approx 400 disassembly pics and a clymer's too. parts are bagged and labeled. the bad? need to weld on shock brackets and the cases are apart, my first time. $290 on vt craiglist. a year-long project probably, but no hurry.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    shinyribs and Pezz_gs like this.
  2. MATTY

MATTY BORDER RAIDER

Oddometer:
    Looks to be a good project, what direction are you going with it, anything in particular?
  3. noman

noman Long timer

Oddometer:
    the previous owner was headed toward a "flat tracker" build with the F3 tank ( a little smaller), bars, smaller battery, curved LED rear light, modified frame and a fab'd flat tracker seat-pan. it would make sense to me to continue in that direction. i don't mind the look, and prefer it over the brat style. with little weight and going -1 on the front sprocket, performance should be ok.
  4. Beezer

Beezer Long timer Supporter

Oddometer:
    Anchorage, formerly Spenard (hub of the universe)
    good luck, they are an orphan. there are no pistons, rings, or valves, etc. available from the dealer. the only things they will have are parts that fit something else by coincidence. there is a fair amount of parts on fleabay but that is variable. a good 400/440 forum:

http://kz400.com/