Nav VI has gone Wonky!

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by triman11427, Nov 20, 2018.

  1. triman11427

    triman11427 Mud is my chrome

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    472
    Location:
    Melville, NY
    I was riding home tonight in bumper to bumper traffic in 45 deg temps. I'm on a 2017 1200 GSA with 5900 miles on it. All of a sudden my GPS starts acting really weird. I was in the map section and it starts pulling back until it shows me planet earth. I try to zoom in and then it starts changing screens without any input from me! My hand is no where near the wonder wheel and it's apparently become possessed! Anyone else have this issue? Garmin has already replaced one of these for me so now I'm thinking the switchgear/wonder wheel is bad.
    #1
  2. marco polo

    marco polo Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Oddometer:
    1,193
    Location:
    Alexandria Virginia and Ottawa, Canada
    A well-known problem, that Garmin readily admits. Mine did that, and Garmin replaced it with a new - in the box - unit about a month ago. Call up Garmin OEM support (I think it's 866-455-7012) and explain the problem. They issued an RMA, sent me a pre-paid shipping label, and I sent mine original Nav VI back. Once received by them, they shipped the replacement unit. Took about two weeks in total for me. There is also a thread about this somewhere.

    P.S., just saw that you already had one replaced. Was it for this same issue?
    #2
  3. Switchglide12

    Switchglide12 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,016
    Location:
    Somewhere in NJ
    No it is your GPS I have same year bike as you my GPS acted weird called Garmin got the new one. One thing you should do disconnect the battery from your GPS wait 30 seconds then reconnect it should solve your problem.
    #3
  4. Xsv

    Xsv Going nowhere, fast Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Oddometer:
    380
    Location:
    Washington State
    Uh oh....mine has done that twice in 9 month. I carry glass cleaner for the bugs on my windshield. I sprayed it and wiped off the screen and it returned to normal. I assumed I had something on the screen that was causing issues.

    Looks like next time I better call garmin?
    #4
  5. triman11427

    triman11427 Mud is my chrome

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    472
    Location:
    Melville, NY
    My original unit did the same thing. The replacement was manufactured in September 2018 and the Garmin rep thought the newer units corrected the acknowledged hardware problem. I was told the only way to know if it’s the bike or the unit is to try the GPS on another bike. Unfortunately this is not a regularly recurrent issue so switching bikes is not an option. I was wondering if anyone had a wonder wheel issue causing the GPS to act weird.
    #5
  6. krussell

    krussell Gravel Warrior Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,948
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    I've experienced, and heard of others experiencing, what I'll go ghost clicking. The symptom is basically just like you pressed the screen, only it happens when you aren't touching it. It occurs most often for me when I'm in view map mode and it acts like a pressed somewhere and drops a pin. Weekend before last it happened when I was entering text. It just started typing D D D D as if I was pressing it. That was enough for me to call Garmin, and they sent me a new unit which I have not yet tried.

    It seems to me that what you describe is wonder wheel related because of the page flipping behavior. I don't know how you get that behavior without using the wonder wheel. You zoom behavior could be a false press on the zoom icon on the display, or it could be the wonder wheel. I can see how it would be hard to figure out with either a different Nav VI or a different bike to help narrow it down.
    #6
  7. Advdave

    Advdave jubilado

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Oddometer:
    431
    Location:
    Anacortes, WA
    Nav VI gone wonky too. Happened 5-6 times over a 3 week ride when the unit was in use every day. Garmin Support checked manufacture date and is sending a replacement unit. Apparently based on the mfg date, they handle the issue differently. They told me the direct line phone number to the Nav VI support group is 855-607-2536 to bypass the multi choice menu.

    Follow up: Garmin replaced the Nav VI, shipped it 2 days after the old one arrived at the Olathe KS facility. Before you send one in, do a backup with the Garmin Express program.
    #7
  8. someguyinTO

    someguyinTO Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Oddometer:
    12
    i agree with above. Mine had the same issue and Garmin even replaced it out of warranty for me. They did ask to send a video showing the problem, so maybe next time its acting up record a quick clip of it on your phone in case they ask you too. Top notch customer service in my experience.
    #8
  9. brazeagle

    brazeagle Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    This is my second WARRANTY exchange Navigator VI...
    First was turning off and not coming back up. Firstly Garmin sent me a new battery...same issue, then GPS VI replaced at no cost.
    Second replacement...my VI started freezing, was not connecting and was also shutting off and not returning...
    Garmin troubleshoot, change the battery again and requested me to send it back...another replacement.
    I have my third GPS GARMIN NAVIGATOR VI, it is no longer shutting it down, and it seems ok, except that the screen flickers low and high brightness, at any light situation, also now, with my K1600B, the handlebar wheel (GPS wheel) will not change page...it will do everything else, but change page...not sure why...still trying to figure it out.
    If anyone had the same CHANGE PAGE problem, please, share your experience.
    Thank you
    LCL
    #9
  10. Electrical

    Electrical Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Oddometer:
    59
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    I believe it's screen related. Use a screen-safe cleaner and this problem goes away... until the screen gets dirty again.
    #10
  11. Boxerbreath

    Boxerbreath 2017.5 GS Black Storm

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Oddometer:
    2,373
    Location:
    Lost Angels County
    If it's a dirty screen issue, which seems unlikely, I'd put one of those screen protectors on.
    I use a NUShield.
    #11