Nav VI problem—Garmin comes through!

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by Dr Twisty, Jun 6, 2019.

  1. NorthernTraveler

    NorthernTraveler Long time Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Oddometer:
    772
    Location:
    The Big Mitten
    From my previous testing OSM looks good, but it renamed all my tracks to Track01, Track01, etc and changed all the track colors to the same color.
    Locus handled the tracks just fine, but the screen was not as easy to see.

    I recently tried testing both again, but one of them - I think Locus - now requires a newer operating system than what is on my test Andoid tablet. So I haven't finished current testing.
    #81
  2. Oron

    Oron Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Oddometer:
    232
    Location:
    The Hub (of the Universe)
    Haven't given this issue much thought since my last post in the Fall of 2018?, but now with Spring around the corner, started to ride the bike and just today my replacement NAV VI has wet the bed. Same frozen, jerky screens and then not turning on as before. Just went on Garmin chat (was unable to connect by phone) and replacement (3rd) unit on its way. I suppose it could be worse; some of you have described being on your 4th or 5th replacement. Needless to say, my confidence is shaken with this product. As of March 2020, does Garmin finally have a handle on their Nav VI QC?
    #82
  3. Menoche

    Menoche Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Oddometer:
    237
    Location:
    La Prairie, Qc, Canada
    Just got my replacement unit today in Montreal and it is indeed a V8 hardware :-)
    #83
    mikegc likes this.
  4. Tumer

    Tumer Tumer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Oddometer:
    22
    Location:
    Izmir, Mediterranean
    Completely agree.

    This is my fifth yes 5th Navi VI. Completely crap. Each unit had worked fine for a minimum of 10k km's. And then in the middle of a trip it begins with the screen, and that problem grows bigger and bigger while you are using your CELLPHONE as your primary GPS unit while the Garmin Navi VI rests. Tthe lags are always there from day one. I really don not understand how BMW still cooperates with Garmin which quality and functional wise does not match.

    I am so sorry I bought his crap.

    The biggest amount of money ever wasted.

    Peace.
    #84
  5. Oron

    Oron Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Oddometer:
    232
    Location:
    The Hub (of the Universe)
    My 3rd Nav VI (2nd replacement) just arrived this afternoon. Just downloaded software 5.80 and map NA v 2021.10.
    Question: does "V8 hardware" refer to version 8 and how do you know what version they shipped?
    #85
  6. mikegc

    mikegc Long timer Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    5,854
    Location:
    High Point, NC
    On your device, Settings > Device > About.

    Mike
    #86
  7. Oron

    Oron Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Oddometer:
    232
    Location:
    The Hub (of the Universe)
    Duh. Shoulda known that. Thank you, Mike!
    Yes, I'm now sporting V8 as well, specifically SA3. Now the big question is, whether or not device #3 is gonna stand the test of time. Not holding my breath.
    #87
  8. NoiZboy

    NoiZboy Dirt to Track and Back Again

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Oddometer:
    677
    Location:
    Northern, VA
    I just got a third new Nav VI unit today, so thought I'd let folks know what the current shipping device hardware & software versions are. This time mine was replaced for a one-off BT issue, not the usual screen problem (last time it was for the screen issue).

    See Post #70 for info on the unit I got back in December. The only hardware/software difference appears to be the "BMW Mottorrad" version. It was V. 13 on the earlier unit, and it's V. 15 on this one. I've no idea what that difference is or even means.:rofl

    I will say, Garmin's tech support worked hard to try and solve this issue over chat, and then didn't hesitate to quickly send a new unit when they couldn't get it working. For more information on the problem I had this time, which was basically that SmartLink refused to work even though BT appeared to be connected, see this thread: https://advrider.com/f/threads/nav-vi-smart-link-problem-no-data-communication-at-all.1443870

    IMG_1353 w Blackout2.jpg
    #88
  9. rider1150gsadv

    rider1150gsadv Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Oddometer:
    9,782
    Location:
    Ft Likkertail , USA
    You joined the 3 unit club too! :lol3 Same here and my brother as well. His 3rd Nav VI is on the way as we speak...
    #89
  10. Bluetooth Tuner

    Bluetooth Tuner Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2019
    Oddometer:
    177
    Location:
    London
    I must be lucky, my nav6 is V5 and 12 and mount version 3 it has been flawless, have I just jinxed myself.
    #90
  11. Dr Twisty

    Dr Twisty Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Oddometer:
    253
    Location:
    Chevy Chase, Md
    I’m late to realize this, but apparently the Nav VI has been discontinued! Wonder when the Nav VII will be released. I also wonder how long the Nav VI will be covered with replacement by Garmin if they have stopped making them.
    https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/553253
    #91
  12. bmac

    bmac Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,542
    Location:
    Florida/Wisconsin
    5 years
    #92
  13. lkraus

    lkraus Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,715
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    There may never be a Nav VII.
    https://riders.drivemag.com/news/this-is-the-new-bmw-motorrad-tft-display/
    [​IMG]
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=654&v=Z7RnX25Ix00&feature=emb_logo


    Garmin's newer motorcycle GPSs have been moving away from the multi-contact mounts needed for CANbus integration for several years, so there is no generic version to modify for a new NAV. I saw this coming when the TFT screen came out with mapping from TomTom instead of Garmin.
    #93
    Dr Twisty likes this.
  14. Dr Twisty

    Dr Twisty Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Oddometer:
    253
    Location:
    Chevy Chase, Md
    Well that kind of sucks for those of us without a TFT. I guess when my Nav VI fails next and it's out of warranty, I'll rig up a generic Garmin mount in place of the Nav VI mount or figure out how to use GPX files on my future waterproof phone. Just have to adapt!

    #94
  15. Dr Twisty

    Dr Twisty Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Oddometer:
    253
    Location:
    Chevy Chase, Md
    So I just finished the NEBDR on my 17.5 1200GS. It was pretty cold at times hovering around freezing. Both my and the guys I was riding with's Nav VI was ghosting--threatening the whole trip. I had heard from a friend if you wet it with water and thoroughly clean the screen with a good clean microfiber towel, it stops the problem. We had nothing to lose so I did that and both of our NAV VI's stopped ghosting. We were careful to avoid touching the screen and used the wonder wheel whenever possible. We cleaned the NAV's with water and a microfiber towel every day of the trip. We had no more ghosting issues. I think there may have been some oil/dirt on our gloves that when transferred to the screen was causing the problem. So this gives me optimism that my Nav VI may last longer than expected as long as I'm careful to limit touching the screen.
    #95
    Sailorlite likes this.
  16. RTinNC

    RTinNC Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Oddometer:
    1,802
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I would still call Garmin and report the us dye so they have a record of it.

    I spoke to them today and my 2nd replacement is being shipped. Great service
    #96
  17. topgunint

    topgunint n00b

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    6
    Location:
    Castle Hill Australia
    Mine is also version 5 with no real problems. It has ghosted a couple of times, but that could have been a dirty screen.
    the blue tooth does drop out now and then and you have to forget the device on your phone then reconnect
    The wonder wheel hasn't worked for a couple of years though
    #97
  18. RTinNC

    RTinNC Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Oddometer:
    1,802
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Other than that it’s perfect :lol3
    #98
  19. Oron

    Oron Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Oddometer:
    232
    Location:
    The Hub (of the Universe)
    This is an update to my March 23, 2020 post. That post reported the arrival of my third Nav VI. Here it is only 8 months later and now this unit has turned into a paperweight. Very frustrating.
    I called Garmin and was told by tech support that they would "research the issue" and get back to me. Never heard that response before; in the past they sent out a new unit immediately. Hmmm. Maybe they are running out of replacement units. I'll let everyone know when I hear.
    #99
  20. Oron

    Oron Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Oddometer:
    232
    Location:
    The Hub (of the Universe)
    Update: Garmin called me back within the hour and is sending me an RA shipping label for yet another replacement. After "researching the issue," he suggested that Garmin now has confidence that this latest unit will work for the long term. He seemed sincere and I hope he is right. Fingers crossed.
    Patch likes this.