Nav VI randomly display change

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by dfowens, Mar 22, 2018.

  1. dfowens

    dfowens Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    PacNW
    I am experiencing random changes/adjustments of the display on my GPS while riding. Meaning without any input from me it will change screen displays much like tapping on the screen will do or moving the wonderwheel. It doesn't do it all the time. Just randomly. Is anyone else experiencing this type of behavior? Very frustrating.

    The firmware is updated to 4.9.
    #1
  2. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    7,872
    Location:
    47°50′15.8″N, 119°56′21.9″W
    You might try cleaning the Mount contacts and the contact pads on your NAV6. Lightly press on the mount pins with your finger to get any dust out and only use a cotton swab with a little rubbing alcohol to clean. You might also check the cable connectors in the righthand side of the fairing by the right stanchon tube - just follow the cable down from the GPS Mount.
    #2
  3. dfowens

    dfowens Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    PacNW
    Will try that. Thanks! It happens on 2 different bikes, so I don't think it is the cable connectors but worth a check.
    #3
  4. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    7,872
    Location:
    47°50′15.8″N, 119°56′21.9″W
    If it is happening on multiple bikes then clean the NAV6 contacts and then do a Master Reset on the NAV6.
    • Master Reset: Power Off the device. Press the Power Button for 5sec. When the Boot Screen appears, touch and hold the lower righthand corner of the display until you see the question. Press Yes to remove all user data. It won’t actually remove all of your Routes/Waypoints/Tracks but it will remove your device settings and Recently Saved Places.
    #4
    Fosters and dfowens like this.
  5. dfowens

    dfowens Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    PacNW
    Thanks! I will keep that in mind. So far the previous fix has worked at least for todays commute.
    #5
  6. dfowens

    dfowens Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    PacNW
    I also sent an email to Garmin and got the following:
    "Sorry for the issue and it is happening to other customers as well. We need to set up an RMA under warranty exchange and we will email you a shipping label to cover your cost of shipping. "
    #6
  7. dfowens

    dfowens Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    PacNW
    I can’t say enough about Garmin customer service! I got a brand new unit in the mail and haven’t had any problems hence


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    #7
  8. wonderings

    wonderings Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,686
    Location:
    New Hamburg, Ontario
    If your bike is still under warranty the Nav is under warranty from BMW. I had an issue with my Nav V and my dealer just swapped it for another one with zero hassle. Did not need to contact Garmin and go through mailing it in and waiting for an exchange, just brought in the old picked up the new.
    #8
  9. dfowens

    dfowens Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    PacNW
    Great point! For some reason I didn’t think about that!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #9
  10. Beairmo

    Beairmo Keeping it real Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    414
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Bringing this thread back to life. There are a few (or more) of us who are battling this right now.

    My Nav VI seems to work fine in my car powered off the cig adaptor cable. But in my 2017 GSA cradle it goes crazy after a while and is out of control. I can only assume its something with the wonder wheel.

    Has anyone isolated the pins in the cradle that power the Nav VI but don't connect to the bike Wonder Wheel? That is my next project. The deanship wants me to drop bike off for eval and I have big trip coming up. So no time for that.
    #10
  11. marco polo

    marco polo Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Oddometer:
    1,184
    Location:
    Alexandria Virginia and Ottawa, Canada
    I phoned Garmin today to report this problem on my Nav VI. It happened twice on a six-day ride last week. They aid it was a known issue, and quickly said they would replace my Nav VI with a new one, after I send my old unit back to them (I can keep the accessories (not that there are many), including the battery. They also sent me a technical questionnaire to fill in/return.
    #11
  12. Beairmo

    Beairmo Keeping it real Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    414
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    That is interesting since last week they told me I had to go to the dealer for replacement.

    Did you ever try the Nav VI off the bike to see if it would mess up? Mine hasn't messed up once off the bike.
    #12
  13. fraroy

    fraroy Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    47
    Location:
    Québec City
    It happened to me last week-end, first and only occurence in two riding seasons. The unit was displaying the sky (3-d) view and turning around on its own ! I took it off from the mount and had a hard time to power it down (didn't have the screwdriver to access the battery and disconnect it). In the end, could power it off then resumed working as usual. My bike is a 2008 r1200gs, without the "wonder" wheel. The unit is mounted in the 4 buttons cradle. This is the end of the season for me, will store the bike away in a few days, so undecided if I should wait for next occurence (spring 2019) or file a RMA right away.
    #13
  14. marco polo

    marco polo Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Oddometer:
    1,184
    Location:
    Alexandria Virginia and Ottawa, Canada
    I think I'd call Garmin, if I were you. I got an email today informing me that my replacement Nav VI was being shipped. I had sent mine to Garmin last week, and they got it Friday. I called 866-455-7012, which I believe is OEM Support.
    #14
  15. Beairmo

    Beairmo Keeping it real Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    414
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I just finished the MABDR and fukn Nav VI went into "crazy mode" three out of six days. Out in the middle of BFE with zero cell coverage and no GPS. Lucky I had a GPX view app on my phone to navigate.

    Yesterday I called Garmin and this time the guy I spoke with admitted there is a known problem with the Nav VI touch screen. He initiated a replacement and Garmin emailed me a UPS label. He said when they get mine they will send me a brand new one.
    #15
  16. iCD55

    iCD55 Still Kickin'

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Oddometer:
    28
    Location:
    PacNW, USA
    #16
  17. JurgenB

    JurgenB daily rider

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    420
    Location:
    Alps
    I reported this issue to Garmin today and after a brief web chat with a support tech she issued an RMA and I will ship the unit to Garmin next week.
    I was able to isolate the problem to the Garmin unit by taping off the contacts before mounting it in the bike cradle. Same issues, no difference.
    I will report back what Garmin says and does.
    #17
  18. Beairmo

    Beairmo Keeping it real Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    414
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN

    There are so many people reporting the same issue with these they are just replacing them. I got my new one and so far its working good. Fingers crossed it keeps working.
    #18
    Ron from BC likes this.
  19. JurgenB

    JurgenB daily rider

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    420
    Location:
    Alps
    See my earlier post. Simply put a piece of scotchtape over the contacts before mounting in the cradle.
    #19
  20. JurgenB

    JurgenB daily rider

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    420
    Location:
    Alps
    crossing fingers is hard with my hands on the grips :)
    #20