Nav VI randomly display change

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by dfowens, Mar 22, 2018.

  1. sillygringo

    sillygringo freewheelings.com

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Oddometer:
    10
    Location:
    State of Nomadic Grandeur
    Called Garmin this evening and got my replacement setup in 10 minutes. Thanks to this board and thread for leading me in the right direction.
    #41
  2. JurgenB

    JurgenB daily rider

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    463
    Location:
    Coloradio
    Got a new NAV VI back from Garmin after 8 days. I had it packed in the Garmin protective case but they did not ship that back to me. Luckily I had removed my SIM card before shipping. Contacted support and they will send me a case.

    Now the bigger issue: The Nav VI no longer dispays the speed limits. I have not found a way to turn this feature on. This serioiusly sucks.
    Any suggestions?
    #42
    Fosters likes this.
  3. JurgenB

    JurgenB daily rider

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    463
    Location:
    Coloradio
    Speed limits magically came back this morning. Also, with the new unit, connectivity problems with iPhone and Schuberth SC1 semm to have goneaway. Happy for now.
    #43
  4. Ron from BC

    Ron from BC Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,795
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    Well very timely.....Merry Christmas from Garmin! As directed, I sent in my old Nav VI unit sans battery in a bubble envelope and low and behold I received a brand new Retail Box Replacement!

    Excellent experience.....:clap

    NavVI Warranty.JPG
    #44
  5. Marbleminer

    Marbleminer Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Oddometer:
    217
    Just thought I would pass along a bit of praise for Garmin.

    I was changing the oil in my 2017 GSA that I bought new with the Nav VI deal that BMW did last year as a year end deal to get ready to go on a ride about to Texas. Anyway, I cranked the bike up after refilling the oil and observed the GPS bouncing around on shall i say lots of screens. I did everything to try and make it work properly. Took it out of the cradle and back in. Nope. Did a hard reset. Nope. Same thing.

    Now I live in north Georgia and was heading to Terlingua, Texas in two days for some off road fun. I needed the GPS! I went inside and called Garmin. Even after their posted hours for calling I got a fellow in Oregon. I explained my problem with the GPS and my predicament of leaving in only 2 days. We spent some time on the phone detailing my problems with the GPS but the short story of the long story was I got my replacement GPS out of Kansas the next day by FedEx! I had to pay a refundable deposit because i did not have time to get mine to them but it is to be credited once they get mine. And the overnight air charges were picked up by Garmin!

    The GPS performed flawlessly even with some unintentional drops out in the desert! :jack

    I have nothing but praise for how I was treated by Garmin! Just thought i would pass this along!
    #45
    rider1150gsadv likes this.
  6. vfrday

    vfrday n00b

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Oddometer:
    4
    Location:
    new york
    it would appear that my problems with the GPS unit is normal! so I opt to get a full refund, I can't justify spending money on anything that don't work correctly as normal, I'll just use my phone for GPS duties
    #46
  7. Bernie Echt

    Bernie Echt Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Oddometer:
    25
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Good luck with that!
    Happy New Year!
    #47
    ejm4 and Ron from BC like this.
  8. ejm4

    ejm4 Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Oddometer:
    363
    Location:
    Capital of Pa
    I shipped mine back close to five weeks ago. I received an email that they got the unit. I phoned them yesterday to see why I have not received the replacement yet. The Garmin tech said they are on back order with a shipment expected this week and another in two weeks. Hopefully mine will ship soon, I don't like using the phone as the GPS.
    #48
  9. onesaintsfan

    onesaintsfan BigJohnHart

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,860
    Location:
    McComb MS, where men are men and sheep are nervous
    Exactly a 3 week turnaround. Not bad considering there was Christmas and New Years holidays in there. They are backordered as well. Guess everyone is sending them in
    #49
  10. ejm4

    ejm4 Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Oddometer:
    363
    Location:
    Capital of Pa
    Mine arrived yesterday.
    #50
  11. cessnadog

    cessnadog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Oddometer:
    349
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Spoke to Garmin today as I had expected mine back by now. They are on backorder and expected late January as of now.
    #51
  12. Kingfish

    Kingfish Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Oddometer:
    146
    I just got back from a trip to DV and my Nav VI had a mind of it's own the whole time. Found this thread to discover the problem. This is why I love ADVRider. I'll be ringing up Garmin this week.
    #52
    x32792 and ejm4 like this.
  13. BluegrassPicker

    BluegrassPicker Been here awhile Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    533
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    This is happening to me. sent Garmin an email through their support link and will report back here.
    #53
  14. ejm4

    ejm4 Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Oddometer:
    363
    Location:
    Capital of Pa
    They should take good care of you. My new one has worked flawless!
    #54
  15. BluegrassPicker

    BluegrassPicker Been here awhile Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    533
    Location:
    Rochester, MN
    You were correct. replacement on the way. Excellent service by Garmin on this
    #55
    ejm4 likes this.