Nav VI

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by RichardD, Dec 10, 2018.

  1. RichardD

    RichardD Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    856
    Quote from a post in Florida Sand Fleas : Certain BMW NAV VI's have a tendency to do what they want at the most inopportune moments...:bluduh
    Garmin stepped up to the plate and is replacing them . Turnaround time about 10 days..:happay
    #1
  2. rider1150gsadv

    rider1150gsadv Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Oddometer:
    7,777
    Location:
    Ft Likkertail , USA
    That was my post... Garmin is doing the right thing here :deal
    #2
  3. cwjb

    cwjb Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Oddometer:
    82
    Location:
    wilmington,il motorcycle hell
    What is it exactly that they are doing ?
    #3
  4. rider1150gsadv

    rider1150gsadv Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Oddometer:
    7,777
    Location:
    Ft Likkertail , USA
    The screen jumps from one to the next function without input from the rider or wonderwheel and any input attempt is ignored by the gps. A restart clears the fault for a little bit. Garmin is doing the right thing and replacing the affected units under warranty.
    #4
    AdamChandler likes this.
  5. Beairmo

    Beairmo Keeping it real Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    420
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
  6. CBRNE

    CBRNE Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    45
    Good info - within 10 minutes on the phone with Garmin, they sent me a shipping label. Once Garmin receives my old GPS they will send me a new GPS. Customer Service rep acknowledged that there were issues with the NAV VI.
    #6
  7. onesaintsfan

    onesaintsfan BigJohnHart

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,847
    Location:
    McComb MS, where men are men and sheep are nervous
    Huh? I thought it was the wonderwheel or a switch problem. Will jump on that tomorrow!!
    #7
  8. rider1150gsadv

    rider1150gsadv Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Oddometer:
    7,777
    Location:
    Ft Likkertail , USA
    My brother and I just received our brand new Garmin VI's, delivered by DHL at 6:30 this AM...:happay
    #8
  9. onesaintsfan

    onesaintsfan BigJohnHart

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,847
    Location:
    McComb MS, where men are men and sheep are nervous
    Glad I came across this thread. Mine was doing the same thing. Thought it was the wonderwheel. Called Garmin at 0830, got a shipping label in less than 15min. Filled out questionnaire and emailed it. Easy Peasey . They said 10 days. Glad my 660 will fit in the mount if needed.
    #9
  10. wellcraft

    wellcraft Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Oddometer:
    392
    Location:
    PA
    Good info....I'm glad I found this thread but so far I haven't had any issues with my NAV VI purchased June 2018. Hopefully it won't act up, I just hauled my GS to AZ from PA for some throttle therapy and I'd hate to lose GPS capability.
    #10
  11. triman11427

    triman11427 Mud is my chrome

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    476
    Location:
    Melville, NY
    I’m on my third unit. First went “loopy” while on a short overnight. Replaced in October. That unit went bad after 1000 miles. Third unit came last week and so far is doing fine. I didn’t upload any old data onto this unit thinking there might be some corrupt files causing the recurrent problem. Garmin has been great about replacing theses. They’ve taken responsibility for the issue. Just sucks I can’t trust my GPS on a trip. I bring my 665 as a backup.
    #11
  12. RichK

    RichK Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Oddometer:
    7,405
    Mine just started going wacky the other day. Randomly going thru screens. Also, at power up and down, the font got goofy.

    I hadn't updated the software in quite some time, and I just did that. If the software update doesn't do the trick, I'll give Garmin a call.

    Thanks for the post!
    #12
  13. cessnadog

    cessnadog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Oddometer:
    347
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Sent mine in last week. Turns out the new units are now on backorder until late January/early February.
    #13
  14. jpbadonk

    jpbadonk Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Oddometer:
    256
    Location:
    denver, co
    I have a 595LM that went unresponsive after having it for 2 months and Garmin warranteed it. While I appreciate the quick replacement, its pretty clear it isn't a very high quality product. For this reason I'm skipping on the Nav VI and will figure out something with an iphone mount.
    #14
  15. AdamChandler

    AdamChandler Ascending n00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Oddometer:
    5,188
    Location:
    Hanover, NH USA
    this is what mine was doing. they replaced it without much fanfare or fighting from me.
    #15
    rider1150gsadv likes this.