NEBDR on a DRZ400 and KLR650

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by cassimonee, Nov 10, 2020.

1. cassimonee

cassimonee Adventurer

Oddometer:
    This is my first ride report and we had a wild 10 day trip on the NEBDR in October 2020 that I wanted to share with you all. Each day will be a new post so bear with me as I get them all uploaded.

A bit of an introduction - Elliot currently lives in Germany and we were supposed to go to Iceland in September but the coronavirus thwarted those plans. We decided to do the NEBDR instead so I found a cheap KLR650 with amazing offroad credentials and bought it for him to ride, while I rode the DRZ400S he had left with me before going to Germany.

Elliot has been riding for 5 years, most of those on the DRZ on trails in WV so he had some good off road experience. I had been riding for 3 years, one of those on the DRZ, and had completed all but one section of the MABDR which was the majority of my off road experience. However the DRZ is a pretty confidence inspiring bike, and I had taken on the expert sections of the MABDR with little issue, so I felt good about doing the NEBDR.

Photo of Zed (the DRZ400S)
    DSC_7396 edit.jpg

Photo of the KLR650 (I've dubbed it "Not Your Father's KLR")
    DSC_0468 edit.jpg
  2. cassimonee

cassimonee Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Day 1 - Thursday 10/8/20