New Garmin Monterra (not a typo!)

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by lmychajluk, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,961
    Location:
    alabama
    the 1.30 apk won't install on anything but a Monterra. the 1.29 (and earlier versions) that Garmin won't distribute anymore is harder to find but installs easily and runs well....
    Screenshot_20191106-063208.png
  2. Smackit

    Smackit Life Is Good Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,006
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada & Guangdong China
    All of the Monterra Software is here. I tried just about every version of the Monterra Outdoor Software on a Galaxy S2, S5, S7, S10+ with various versions of Android. The S2 is rooted and running Android 4 which is about the same OS as the Monterra. No device will accept the installation, they go through the motions, and at the end I get the "X App not installed message".

    Don't know how you installed it, or what you're running it on, but your screenshot definitely shows it working.
  3. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,961
    Location:
    alabama
    the older 1.29 will work, i have it on several

    yesterday i tracked a couple hundred miles with it as a test.

    unfortunately the Garmin outdoor application doesn't record as many data points in each track point as my Android apps.... so i won't be using it for recording tracks:
    Android:
    Screenshot_20191107-055218.png
    Garmin:
    Screenshot_20191107-055231.png
  4. Smackit

    Smackit Life Is Good Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,006
    Location:
    Reno, Nevada & Guangdong China
    I don't think you have the pure Garmin 1.29, I think you have a slightly modified APK that someone made to work.

    Interesting observation on the trackpoints, I still think the Monterra has the best trackpoint creation of any device or software I've tried. The algorithm has the perfect blend of distance and time....tracks come out very smooth.
  5. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,961
    Location:
    alabama

    that's the automagic recording setting, I agree it's just right. if it included barometer/heart rate/altitude/speed/accuracy/battery/temp/etc it would really be a handy reference years later after the ride/home was completed.

    if you find a list of Garmin checksums for apks we can compare after a md5sum on this one... otherwise who knows what's different.
  6. Bayner

    Bayner Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,389
    Location:
    Penticton, BC, Canada
    Anyone have a Monterra they're no longer making use of and would part with?
  7. emilio700

    emilio700 Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Oddometer:
    91
    Location:
    SoCal
    I have a Monterra for sale. Current firmware 4.10 updated. Includes powered RAM mount & battery. Perfect condition, no scratches on screen. Detailed base maps installed. 32gb card included.
    Garmin battery weak so either use AA's, rechargeable A's or included powered mount. I had the mount set up on my bike to switched power so Monterra powered up when bike started. Mount is stable enough to take good images. Nice for geotagging cool spots so you can find them later.

    Originally paid around $800 for all of it. Paypal $280 to info@949racing.com and its yours including insured shipping to anywhere in US. Same email if you have any questions. PM's turned off so email only.
    Monterra_1.jpg
    Monterra_2.jpg
    Benduro likes this.
  8. Bayner

    Bayner Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,389
    Location:
    Penticton, BC, Canada
    Hey mate, thanks for the offer.
    In the intervening weeks I decided to give a ruggedized smart phone a try instead. If I end up unsatisfied, I'll hit you up for it.
    Thanks again!
  9. Paco Martínez

    Paco Martínez n00b

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Oddometer:
    2
    Location:
    Zaragoza Spain
    Hello, I've been struggling several days with my Monterra looking for on the internet to install an APK to manage my Gopro without success.
    I have found this post and it seems you got it. Would you be so kind to help me with additional information on how to do it please?
    Thank you very much in advance and best regards.
  10. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,155
    Location:
    48°58′18.9″N, 89°57′39.1″E
    The Android OS on the Monterra cannot be updated in order to run your current Android Apps. Garmin abandoned / discontinued this device.
  11. VABDet

    VABDet Is it dirty? I'm in...

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Oddometer:
    787
    Location:
    Virgingistan
    Hello Paco, now you come with old things - I don't remember what I had for lunch yesterday since I am old and you ask me about stuff I posted 5 years ago LOL

    Let me try if I remember it right, since the Monterra Android can't be updated you have to stick with older GoPro APPs and an SD Card installer APP. Back then I found both online. Just Google for GoPro APK downloads in the 2.6.xx range and download those. Then you need to get an SD Card APK installer like this https://apkpure.com/sd-card-apk-installer/bong.android.sdcardapk (though not sure if that was the one I used)

    If I went with newer version than the 2.6.xx it wouldn't launch. Though I have no idea if those old GoPro App version still connect to the new GoPro. Back then I had a GoPro 3. Its all try and error. Maybe you get lucky to just be able to control the basic functions.

    If you can't find those APKs let me know, I may have those still on my computer at home.

    good luck
    The Walrus and DRTBYK like this.
  12. 2thdrinOR

    2thdrinOR Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Oddometer:
    495
    Location:
    Monmouth, OR
    Nice helpful reply...good on you VABDet! So much aingst in the world today, and yes I am also guilty.
  13. The Walrus

    The Walrus Gone and back again.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Oddometer:
    9,734
    Location:
    Freshly minted Millcreek
    I just fired up my Monterra for the first time in a year.
    Won't even support current Google maps.
    What a POS
    No updates and abandoned.
    Never buying Garmin ever again.
  14. Ken in Regina

    Ken in Regina Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,961
    Location:
    Regina, SK, Canada
    Garmin can be horribly frustrating. I've had a couple of devices (eg iQue 3600 Palm-based GPS, kind of an early Monterra) and software-only solutions (eg. Mobile XT, a Palm app and Mobile PC, a Windows app, that let you connect an external GPS to your device and use it as a navigation device, another Monterra kind of effort) over the years that have been rather quickly dropped and never supported after that. Those experiences kept me away from the Monterra even though it looked like a really attractive option. Garmin has been down that road a number of times on other OS platforms and never gets it together.

    And don't get me going on their almost complete lack of customer support on almost everything. It was bad when I first started using Garmin devices and it has gotten worse over the past decade.

    On the other hand, I've bought many of their devices that seem to get supported almost forever. I have an old Nuvi 40, an even older 765T, and a 2597, all with lifetime maps. I can still get the lifetime maps updates on all of them and I still get firmware updates on the 40 and 2597. Everything still works fine on the 765T so the fact there are no longer firmware updates isn't relevant.

    I have one of their earliest golf GPSs, the Approach G6. I can't remember how long I've had it but I know I used it for at least 4 seasons before I quit golfing nearly 4 seasons ago. I stumbled across it a couple days ago and connected it with Garmin Express. I got a firmware update, a time zone map update and updates to the current golf course databases.

    I have a Montana 600 that I've had for four years. It was a refurbished model when I bought it so it's older than that. I've received firmware updates for it fairly recently. All of the maps I throw at it still seem to work just fine. And the rechargeable battery life is still excellent.

    I really hate to give Garmin any defense but, on balance, despite the frustration of some products I had high hopes for, Garmin devices have worked well for me over the years.

    ...ken...
  15. Paco Martínez

    Paco Martínez n00b

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Oddometer:
    2
    Location:
    Zaragoza Spain
    Hi VABDet,
    Ha, ha, ha, Yes I know that I'm asking about old things, so am I, lol.
    I'm very happy just with your quick reply.
    I have been using my Monterra for several years, mainly to see landpictures during off road activities. I am quite happy wiht it so far and now I was thinking on the Gopro management posibility. So I will test again as per your recomendations.
    Additionally to my Monterra I have also other Garmin devices (Map62s, Map64s & NUVI). I don't know about other GPS companies; at the moment I still trust on Garmin, knowing their software failures when launching some of the new products.
    Thanks a lot