New Garmin Zumo 396

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by StuartV, Apr 11, 2018.

  1. StuartV

    StuartV Motorcyclist Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,934
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
    I got email today about a new Zumo from Garmin. The 396LMT-S.

    https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/610131

    $399.99

    It looks like a cross between the 395 and the 595. With the new feature of WiFi for updating, instead of having to connect with a cable.

    It appears to have the same 4.3" screen from the 395, but with all the features of the 595 (plus WiFi).

    I was considering replacing my Zumo 660 with something newer. I would like better smartphone integration that what my 660 gives me (which is basically none). I started off thinking I wanted to get a 595. But, now seeing the 396, I'm wondering if I should be expecting a 596 with WiFi to come out soon. That would be nicer than having to cable up to a computer every time I want to update the GPS.

    Or maybe the 396 is it and they will be phasing out the bigger unit going forward...?
    #1
    Steve G. likes this.
  2. StuartV

    StuartV Motorcyclist Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,934
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
    Doh! NOW I see the GPS forum.

    Can a mod please move this thread for me? Sorry!
    #2
  3. dpike

    dpike BeeKeeper Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,437
    Location:
    New Jersey
    i've give it a few months for the 595 replacement. i had a 595, great gps, fair screen. i now have a nav 6, good gps, great screen... maybe the 59x will be the one.
    #3
  4. swimmer

    swimmer armchair asshole

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Oddometer:
    15,233
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Report your thread.
    #4
  5. StuartV

    StuartV Motorcyclist Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,934
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
    Done. Thanks. I'm still new here. I'll get the hang of this place some day... ;)
    #5
  6. StuartV

    StuartV Motorcyclist Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,934
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
    Yeah, now that I see the 396, I will definitely be waiting a bit before I buy anything. My Zumo 660 still works fine. I don't NEED anything new.... :D
    #6
    F650Dakar_Norway likes this.
  7. Todd157k

    Todd157k Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    2,459
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    I wonder if it has the processor that the 595 has or is it still the 395? There's a major difference in speed between the two. I have a 395 and it gets a bit frustrating at times because it takes soooo long to move the screen around.
    #7
  8. dddd

    dddd Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,278
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    I'm disappointed by the low res screen (no better than 660), and the complete lack of free traffic data (i will rely on smartphone app thus burning batteries and costing data plan charges, usually roaming of course...). Quite a regression compared to the free FM traffic data.

    I expect a zumo 596 (I'm extrapolating their numbering) top of line to show up later, otherwise, the 660 is still gonna sell strong, (because the 595 isn't that interesting).

    Basically, I need a quad or eight core zumo, with lots of ram like 4+GB (whatever it takes to route within 2 seconds), lots of on board flash future proof please, like 32GB, a 1280x720 screen, lifetime fm traffic and all the other additions since the 660. No, not a smartphone... I want the rugged version. Oh , and sd card reader up to terabyte and a dashcam at the end of a cable of the motorcycle mount! All of it on usb3 (no more installing at 5MB/s) & latest bluetooth. There you go.
    #8
  9. blender

    blender Just another rider

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Oddometer:
    918
    Location:
    The Middle Coast
    Yep, good luck with that from Garmin. If they actually did make something that approached those specs it likely would cost a bajillion dollars.
    #9
    Shadowed_Stranger likes this.
  10. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,140
    Location:
    alabama

    LOL!
    #10
  11. dddd

    dddd Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,278
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Yeah! That felt good.

    But when you think about how smartphones go these days, it's already done (minus the rugged, motorcycle mount and dashcam).
    #11
  12. Ocho NA

    Ocho NA Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Oddometer:
    261
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I got an email that the device is now available in the US. It was $80 off as well. Order placed.
    #12
  13. Manray

    Manray Killing Time

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Oddometer:
    367
    Location:
    North America
    PM sent
    #13
  14. scridercoach

    scridercoach Old crusty bast**d

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Oddometer:
    374
    Location:
    South Cackalacky
    So while trying to see any feedback on the 396, I stumbled on this thread. I've not owned a GPS before, nor am I really sure I need one except for the ability to easily transfer GPX files. I've always just ridden and winged it. Trying to slog through workarounds with phone apps, google maps and the like just kills me. So I took a leap of faith and ordered it today. I figured since it's got most of the 595's features, notwithstanding the screen size, it would be a good starting point. I'm not sure I'll need the bigger screen, at least not with voice prompts. Especially for $300 more. Guess, we'll see. It's not supposed to arrive until next week, just before I go off on a week-long trip. So hang tight and I'll give you all a review, if only from a GPS neophyte that will probably be pleased, as I have nothing to compare it to.
    #14
  15. Ocho NA

    Ocho NA Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2017
    Oddometer:
    261
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I got mine saturday but have yet to try it out, waiting for my moto specific bracket I plan to mount it too. I can say I like the look of the device, and it includes most of the previous version's accessories except no car charger (only a usb cable).
    #15
  16. SnowGS

    SnowGS It wasn’t me, officer.

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Oddometer:
    78
    Location:
    Canada
    I received and installed mine yesterday. I have 2 Garmin car GPSs from 10 years ago and this is much faster but the screen is no better. Feels like a battle tank.
    I’m off next week on a Saddlesore 1000 and a 5000km in 5 day ride from Quebec to Georgia so I should be able to give a credible review after that.
    My route went from Basecam into the device with no grief, that’s a start since loading it into Scenic and a few other iPhone apps threw errors.
    #16
  17. dpike

    dpike BeeKeeper Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,437
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Pics?
    #17
  18. scridercoach

    scridercoach Old crusty bast**d

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Oddometer:
    374
    Location:
    South Cackalacky
    My 396 arrived today. Have played with it a little bit, set up Basecamp and the unit. Will attempt to wire the loom and put on the mount this weekend. Since I have no reference point for comparison, for the moment I'm relatively impressed. The unit is not quite intuitive, but it's not horrible. Now learning the ins and outs of Basecamp, that'll be the challenge. I did load some GPX files from my Mac into Basecamp and then onto the unit without issue so that at least bodes well.

    The unit itself seems solid and I'm happy enough with the graphics and overall operation. I admit, I'd probably prefer the larger screen of the 595, but given that the 396 has basically all the same functions as the 595, I can't really justify an extra $300. As Ocho mentioned above, it would have been nice if it had included a car charger. That way I could at least play with it while at work prior to the weekend.
    #18
  19. scridercoach

    scridercoach Old crusty bast**d

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Oddometer:
    374
    Location:
    South Cackalacky
    Those of you who have received your 396's or have similar 395's. Quick question. I'm putting together my powered baseplate and am trying to verify the orientation of the power connection plug when you slide it into the plate. The manual shows a plug that has a + mark next to one of the pins and shows it oriented to the right. My plug has no mark. It does have the plastic "ridge" and in the manual that appears to be on the outbound side of the mount. Could any of you just verify if my positioning is correct? I'd just hook it up to the bike before securing the loom, but it's at the shop and I'm not picking it up for another day or two. Thanks in advance for your input.

    IMG_0100.png
    #19
  20. SnowGS

    SnowGS It wasn’t me, officer.

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Oddometer:
    78
    Location:
    Canada
    Uh, there’s only one way the tiny little screw can line up with the tiny little hole in the back.
    At least on the 396 that’s the case.
    #20
    oakcutter likes this.