New Motoport Marathon Jacket Arrived - First Impressions

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by airengineer, Sep 28, 2009.

1. airengineer

airengineer Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I had been looking to buy a Motoport jacket to go with my Ultra II stretch Kevlar pants purchased this past spring. I wasn't keen on the Ultra II or Riva jackets and was in a quandary until I saw their new Marathon jacket introduced this summer. My black, stretch-Kevlar, Quad-armor model arrived last Wednesday and I thought I'd post my impressions. Bear in mind I'm no expert but I am picky about the things I buy. Based on my experience with the pants, I was pretty sure this jacket would be nice. I also read the long thread by Repko over on ADVrider on the Marathon and that's what convinced me to take the plunge. Rides to date: I commuted to work on Friday and took a 200 mile trip on Saturday.

Back to the jacket, out of the box this thing is heavy! 11 Lbs. shipping. And stiff. I started to wonder if I was going to be OK with this and then I remembered; when I got my Ultra II pants, they were HEAVY and STIFF. I swear they could stand up by themselves, maybe even hold the bike up too. Now after months of commutes and rides, the pants are quite comfortable and I don't notice the weight at all. In fact, I feel naked if I don't have them on when I sit on the bike. (I'm an ATGATT rider).

It's getting cold here in the mornings, mid-40’s and by now I'd be wearing the liner in my old jacket to make the 5-mile ride to work just to arrive there cold. When it gets into the 30’s PolarTec jacket under the jacket/liner. 20’s long johns under my jeans, and wind pants over and I'd still be pretty stiff when I got to work both from the cold and from all the stuff I had to wear!