New to ADV riding, Tenere 700 or Africa Twin?

Discussion in 'Japanese polycylindered adventure bikes' started by ADVoldie, May 6, 2020.

1. ADVoldie

ADVoldie Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I’m new to the ADV world, I’ve always been more of a motocross guy. I’d say the majority of my riding will be on pavement but I’ll be looking to get off road as much as possible. I put money down on the new Tenere 700 but i still don’t know when it’ll be available in the US. SO do I wait or get an Africa Twin. I’m only considering these two bikes. Any help would be appreciated!
    Flyin' Monkeys likes this.
  2. rswift-ebay

rswift-ebay Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I LOVE my 2016 Africa Twin but if I had my choice again I would go for the Yamaha. Nothing bad I can see about it. Lighter, more nimble and all round good performer.

The only downside would be not having the DCT which I love in the dirt and before anyone chimes in that's its not a real bike without a clutch, I have two other 'real bikes' thank you very much so I do know how to ride!
    RoyQ, lithodave and ADVoldie like this.
  3. Lewilewi

Lewilewi Ride it like you stole it......

Oddometer:

Big adventure bikes are not really a good newbie bike..

Go try a 1290 sar
    ADVoldie likes this.
  4. craigincali

craigincali I'll try it.

Oddometer:
    I don't think you could go wrong with either one. The main factor I would consider is weight. If you really think you are going to go off road then weight is something that should play a big factor in your decision.

I used to take my KTM990 off road all the time. Problem was I could only pick it up 3 times before I was so drained that if I had dropped t again I would have been screwed. I have a Yamaha Super Tenere now (don't go off road) and I am considering the same as you.

Since the AT has been out for a few years it is safer to say all the bugs have been worked out, cant say that for the T7.
    jojitsu and ADVoldie like this.
  5. zoo

zoo Been here awhile