NEW Trailtech Voyager Pro - speculation and rumour

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by iggs, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. sati8d

    sati8d REALLY?? Eh! Oh! ca va pas non??? Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,366
    Location:
    New Bern, NC
    Well said. Yup, my point too.
  2. Todd157k

    Todd157k Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    3,333
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Well, finally got mine out for some real 'tracking' and use. So far, it's been great. Mind you, I only use it as a GPS unit for off-road. I don't use the music stuff, nor do I use it as a speedo. I actually seldom look at my speedo anyway. I did find myself zooming in/out quite often to see where the actual trail head was. It was fast enough I could do it while riding, with gloves. I never experienced a 'bad lighting' part of the day. I could see the screen just fine.
    My ONLY gripe at this point is turning off the unit loses the loaded track. It doesn't take that long to reload it, but just a little pita.
    I haven't tried the buddy tracking yet. My son and brother haven't put theirs on yet.
    Magus, Davethestick and Gildus like this.
  3. TThelper

    TThelper Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    187
    Can you please explain to me whats is happening? That does not sound right. The loaded track should always remain until you clear it manually.
  4. Davethestick

    Davethestick Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,279
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Yeah mine doesn't do this either Todd.
    Todd157k likes this.
  5. Todd157k

    Todd157k Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    3,333
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Load a track.. run around.. stop for lunch and turn the unit off or sleep.. track gone. Have to reload track. I take it that it's not supposed to do that? Is there a setting I missed?
  6. Graydale

    Graydale Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Oddometer:
    70
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    It's a shame Trailtech is so incompetent they can't even make a simple list of menu options and where they can be found on the device.
  7. Gildus

    Gildus Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,062
    Location:
    Oregon Territory
    That track should still be there...something's wrong
  8. Todd157k

    Todd157k Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    3,333
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Well, since everyone said it's supposed to work I got to fiddling with it. I re-installed the last update (still on my card) and guess what.. it works. The map stays loaded after I turn it off, then back on. I tried it a couple of times. Thanks for letting me know.. now I have nothing to btch about. :lol2
    @Davethestick try re-loading the latest update.
    Davethestick likes this.
  9. Davethestick

    Davethestick Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,279
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Oh wow, I didnt even know there was a new update. I guess its time to download it. We're averaging a new update per year.
  10. Gildus

    Gildus Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,062
    Location:
    Oregon Territory
    The VH1931B update's been around a long time...waiting for a new one
  11. Davethestick

    Davethestick Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,279
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Unless im misreading something, looks like theres a V32012B?
    Gildus likes this.
  12. Gildus

    Gildus Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,062
    Location:
    Oregon Territory
    You're right, my bad, misread info on the site.
    Davethestick likes this.
  13. sati8d

    sati8d REALLY?? Eh! Oh! ca va pas non??? Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,366
    Location:
    New Bern, NC
    All right guys, I was all excited about getting the Trail Tech Pro to put on my F4 fairing, but now the new Garmin XT is out and I'm waffling.
  14. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,082
    Location:
    alabama
    the Garmin suffers from the usual Bluetooth/wifi that they just can't seem to figure out...

    the trail tech unit STILL doesn't have any routing functions (it's 2020 guys!) , even though they promised over and over that it would have that GPS functionality for years.

    you may want to read both the Garmin and trail tech threads before you spend 10x what the united are worth
    EmmEff likes this.
  15. TThelper

    TThelper Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    187
    The entire color instructions with pictures are on the unit with a linked TOC.
  16. TThelper

    TThelper Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    187
    Great! That's what I was going to suggest. Glad you got it working.
    Todd157k likes this.
  17. conrado

    conrado Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Oddometer:
    451
    Location:
    Berlin (Germany)
    Makes you wonder who is incompetent ....
  18. Todd157k

    Todd157k Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    3,333
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    I think he was just having a little light hearted fun with me. What I was looking for wasn't in the help files though.
    Davethestick likes this.
  19. sati8d

    sati8d REALLY?? Eh! Oh! ca va pas non??? Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,366
    Location:
    New Bern, NC
    That's a curious comment because it talks via i eternal wifi to upgrade its maps from your phone.... I've read the Bzt connection to your ph and helmet works quite well.
    That's the point, I've read this whole thread and everything on XT.
    The TTPro still has issues you guys have been asking help with for as long time.
    now that being said the TT Pro has functions that are better than the XT. The way I'm understanding it is you're supposed to build your route and put it on the SD card and stick it into TT Pro and you'll have your route. Are you saying it just won't talk to you like on a road version GPS, which is a function that I often mute anyway.
    what I like about the TT Pro is having all the other functions of speed electrical and heat monitoring that a garment doesn't give you oh, I was going to use it in place of the OEM Husqvarna digital display which is Bare Bones
    typeamark, Gildus and ohgood like this.
  20. Rbott

    Rbott Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Oddometer:
    553
    Location:
    Arlington, VT
    So it's great you can load your entire music library on an sd card and listen to it thru your headset when no cell service to stream music.

    Is there really no shuffle option? Or did I miss it??