New Xmax 300 !

Discussion in 'Battle Scooters' started by wibble, Sep 16, 2017.

  1. RalphM

    RalphM Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    96
    Location:
    NW UK
    Wasn't sure were but knew it wasn't the same as the UK/EU bikes.
  2. Wdoney

    Wdoney Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Oddometer:
    198
    Location:
    Nashville
    I recently saw a video on the old Motobecane plant now called MBK in France where Yamaha is now building the XMAX for the European market. Very nice and updated.
    RalphM likes this.
  3. Glen e

    Glen e Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Oddometer:
    715
    Location:
    Fort lauderdale, fl
    I had a weird experience this morning. When I stopped at the drugstore I shut my bike off the usual way with the switch and immediately the key light on the dash started flashing very quickly and the alarm horn emitted a high beeping frequency… I turn the key fob off and it went away. After that the whole bike worked onNormally, and never repeated the problem on subsequent stops....So far… I pulled out the shop manual and all I can see is either the battery is low in the fob, or it’s radio interference… Has anybody else run into anything like this? My battery is only 30 days old, I’m going to swap it out for another one.
  4. RalphM

    RalphM Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    96
    Location:
    NW UK
    The key range as far as ignition is concerned is very low and just being in the wrong pocket
    can cause it to loose lock, if this happens the and you switch off the bike does what you
    describe to alert you and give you time to switch it back on.
  5. Glen e

    Glen e Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Oddometer:
    715
    Location:
    Fort lauderdale, fl
    I’m leaning toward radio interference. There was a tremendous amount of construction at the stop where this happened, and for the 4 other stops I made today doing errands , it didn’t happen again…Fob battery is not the problem, it is almost a fully charged 2032.

    HERES THE SOLUTION:
    [update: just got a new iPhone, and when the keys are kept in the same pants pocket as the phone, I get an intermittent connection with the bike. Move the phone and the keys to separate pockets and the problem goes away…]
    Speedtrap likes this.
  6. johnyrrr

    johnyrrr Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Oddometer:
    336
    Location:
    South Lyon Michigan
    Nice looking scoot, Id love to try one of these out soon.

  7. RalphM

    RalphM Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    96
    Location:
    NW UK
    It operates on 433.92 in the UK thats right in the most used part of the shared with military
    70cm ham radio band, though yours in the US may be on 315mhz
  8. Wdoney

    Wdoney Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Oddometer:
    198
    Location:
    Nashville
    I plan on commuting on my 2019 XMAX all winter in the Nashville area. For the previous 9 years I did so on my motorcycle. Temperatures will often be below freezing. My motorcycle never failed to start even when temperatures we in the mid teens. I live in an apartment so my XMAX is outdoors in the parking lot with a motorcycle cover over it.

    My concern is the cold starting ability of the XMAX. Has anyone here had to start their XMAX when temperatures were below freezing ?
  9. Bueller

    Bueller Cashin? Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Oddometer:
    20,270
    Location:
    Hide Away Hills, Ohio
    No, and I hope I never have to.

    But it should be fine. Yamaha generally does a good job with mapping.
  10. RalphM

    RalphM Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    96
    Location:
    NW UK
    Never at freezing but very close and it started up as normal.
  11. Glen e

    Glen e Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Oddometer:
    715
    Location:
    Fort lauderdale, fl
    The main thing the cold is going to affect is the battery. Before you go into the season , make sure it’s efficiency is 100%. If you can get a $35 battery maintainer on the bike, it will really help the battery, However riding it every day will almost do the same thing.
  12. Wdoney

    Wdoney Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Oddometer:
    198
    Location:
    Nashville
    Thanks Glen, I agree my concern is at the low temperatures if our 120 CCA battery will be able to turn the engine over. My motorcycle had a 230 CCA battery although the motor was a twin and had over twice the engine CC. I do ride my XMAX every day. I also have a Battery Tender charger but since I have to park in a parking lot I will have to bring the battery inside to put it on the charger. Even though I have only had my XMAX for four months I have no idea if the battery was properly charged before it was turned over to me. This weekend I will pull the battery and put it on the tender for a day to make sure it is fully charged. I also have to put the windscreen into the higher position for winter riding and change the oil to Synthetic.
  13. Glen e

    Glen e Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Oddometer:
    715
    Location:
    Fort lauderdale, fl
    I lived in Nashville for several years, actually Hendersonville. The weather there isn’t going to get cold enough that you even need to bother with any type of change in your regimen. It’s when things are below 0°F that the battery gets worked hard. If it does get to be near zero and windy, It will also help tremendously if you tie the cover using the underneath grommets to protect it from frigid wind blows…
  14. Wdoney

    Wdoney Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Oddometer:
    198
    Location:
    Nashville
    Ok, I took the cover off to check the battery. It measured 12.85 volts so no need to take it out and charge it. I was looking at the terminals to see about attaching a pigtail with an SAE plug that I can use for my electric tire pump. I noticed a separate set of wires already on the terminals. When I fished them out it turns out someone already connected an SAE plug on the battery. My dealer got my XMAX directly from the Yamaha warehouse so I assume the dealer installed it since I doubt Yamaha would have. That saved me a few minutes.

    I also raised the windscreen, checked the tire pressure and changed the oil and filter. All set for a 200 mi!e ride tomorrow to the Cumberland Plateau and back. Forecast is sunny and 71.
  15. Glen e

    Glen e Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Oddometer:
    715
    Location:
    Fort lauderdale, fl
    Just for grins I would like to figure out from the dealer where that pigtail came from. If he says that he doesn’t mount those as a standard procedure, then one possibility is the bike was sold and returned with very ,very few miles because it just didn’t work out, or the person couldn’t get financed etc.… This happens in the car business all the time. The easy way to check is to call Yamaha and ask them to read you who’s on the warranty ;meaning some other person, or you. If it’s somebody else, the dealer owes you an explanation, but it can be changed with some simple paperwork.
  16. Wdoney

    Wdoney Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 15, 2019
    Oddometer:
    198
    Location:
    Nashville
    I don't think it was a return as I saw it in the shipping crate that it was delivered in from the Factory. My name is on the warranty. I had already contacted Yamaha Y.E.S. Regarding the extended warranty I purchased to verify I was registered. I am pretty sure the dealer put the pigtail on. When I stop by there on my next visit I will ask them. It is very curious.
  17. Glen e

    Glen e Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Oddometer:
    715
    Location:
    Fort lauderdale, fl
    Yeah, you also know you’re OK when you receive mail/email stuff from Yamaha. In the car business, when A guy returns the car after three days ,sometimes they forget to update the warranty so all the recall information and other things still go to him.....
  18. RalphM

    RalphM Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    96
    Location:
    NW UK
    Must have a look on mine next time I have the front off, there are two diagnostic connectors
    under there one for the ecu the other for the abs, but I have not noticed anything else,
  19. BigBaloo

    BigBaloo Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2019
    Oddometer:
    400
    Location:
    Scotland
    Odd thing happened on the way home last night.
    Oil Service notification came on but the oil trip was only registering 2500 miles.
    Service book lists two services, first one at 590 and a second one at 1528 miles.
    I bought it at roughly 2400 miles and its got just over 4000 miles now.
    Manual says oil service warnings are spaced at 600, 2400 and 3000 thereafter.
    So it appears mine has gone off either 500 miles early or 100 miles late?
    Confused.
  20. RalphM

    RalphM Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Oddometer:
    96
    Location:
    NW UK
    There's no telling what as gone on the counter runs from when it was reset and if you
    don't know how they can be difficult you have to hold the button for 15 secs or something
    at one point so it could have been reset at the wrong miles, I would change it at 3000 and
    reset the trip at the same time and see were it comes on again, you are then back on a
    known schedule and it's only a pint or two of oil..