Newb looking for a GPS

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by ADVoldie, Nov 23, 2020.

1. ADVoldie

ADVoldie Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I’m new to the adventure game and I’m having a heck of a time finding the right GPS. I’ve tried using my iPhone which then got ruined. Is it possible to get something that you put in a starting and ending point and it shows the an off hwy route? Not looking to spend a fortune.
    GabbysGarage likes this.
  2. turtlespeed

turtlespeed Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    people have used car cheap GPS ... any gps 2-3 years old should do... I bought a device only Garmin 50LMTHD for $22 few months back on ebay ...
  3. Snake Oiler

Snake Oiler If the world didn't suck, we would all fall off

Oddometer:
    Pennsylvania, but living in a toy hauler full-time
    I do know of a good that's going to route you primarily on dirt roads/routes.
  4. Boatman

Boatman Membership has it's privileges ;-) Supporter

Oddometer:
  5. Photowriter

Photowriter Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    In my line of work I am reviewing MC GPS navigators and have access to a few of the latest models. But usually myself I am using a "rugged" Android based mobile phone with a free software like HERE WeGo or Maps.Me.

With a good screen on the Phone I have found that the free software works just as good as the big brands purchased maps and software. And when you park the bike you only have to remove the phone, you should NEVER leave a GPS navigator mounted on your bike. Even with the special, and expensive, theft locks mounted they are very easy to steal.
  6. radmann10

radmann10 Old fart Supporter

Oddometer:
    Garmin Montana is great, covers roads to hiking trails, etc. You will need to buy a Topo map of your chosen area!
  7. webnetxpress

webnetxpress DakarEnduro

Oddometer:
    Garmin Montana. Period. (my opinion!)