Newbie planning 48 state road trip...advice welcomed!

Discussion in 'Americas' started by nsherman2006, Feb 23, 2011.

1. nsherman2006

nsherman2006 Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hello,

I'm a newbie to ADVrider, and a relative newbie to riding (1000 miles). I love it, and have decided to do a 48 continental state road trip. It's the right time in my life...I'm 22, have a serious girlfriend, but I'm unmarried with no children, and my house, cars, bikes are all paid off. Debt-free, and pretty much responsibility-free, I'm not going to miss the opportunity.

I understand that a lot of people say it's a bad idea to go with such little experience. But I'm stubborn, and I figured I'd probably meet some like minded people here. So here's the plan

Bike: Ninja 650, stock w/ Battlax BT-021s

Itinerary:

Day 1: Starts in NE CT, through RI, MA, ME, NH, VT, ends around Troy, NY
    Day 2: Starts around Troy, NY, through PA, ends around Cleveland, OH
    Day 3: Starts around Cleveland, OH, through MI, IN, ends around Chicago, IL
    Day 4: Starts around Chicago, IL, through IA, WI, ends around Minneapolis, MN
    Day 5: Starts around Minneapolis, MN, through ND, ends around Redfield, SD (Middle of Nowhere???)
    Day 6: Starts around Redfield, SD, through NE, ends around Douglas, WY
    Day 7: Starts around Douglas, WY, ends at Yellowstone in MT
    Day 8: Starts in Yellowstone, ends around Lewiston, ID
    Day 9: Starts around Lewiston, ID, through WA, ends around Lakeview, OR
    Day 10: Starts around Lakeview, OR, through CA, NV, ends in Salt Lake City, UT (I have a friend here, going to stay for a while)
    Day 11: Starts in SLC, UT, through CO, AZ, NM, ends around Albuquerque, NM (LONG day...)
    Day 12: Starts around Albuquerque, NM, through TX, ends around Oklahoma City, OK
    Day 13: Starts around Oklahoma City, OK, through KS, MO, ends around Little Rock, AR
    Day 14: Starts around Little Rock, AR, through MS, ends around New Orleans, LA