no splice option for switched power - R1200GS

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by AngryScot, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. AngryScot

    AngryScot .

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    18,439
    Location:
    ☼ Ca ☼
    After I did my lights I got a few questions on the switched power connector. This options allows you to get the switched power from the diagnostic plug without having to cut into any wires.
    The part is from Molex part#1292prt (got mine at Radio Shack)
    [​IMG]

    you of course only need one of the plugs so for $2.69 it is not the cheapest but you can share with buddies when they gawk at your clean set up :lol3

    Here is what it looks like crimped and with heat shrink tubing.
    [​IMG]

    I drilled a small hole in the plug cover and used a small rubber grommet (sorry don't know the sizes on those parts.
    [​IMG]

    installed test fit, I know the other bit of shrink tube isn't done yet.
    [​IMG]
    Close up
    [​IMG]

    Works great, had it installed for 7 months now and no issues. Easy when going for warranty work, they just pull the plug and pull the connector for the diagnostic system, then plug back in and done.

    I am not against splicing and tapping into the stock wiring, this is just a different option.
    Hope it is useful!

    :thumb
    #1
  2. kindofblue

    kindofblue Ride it like you stole it

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Oddometer:
    822
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    GS newbie question here:
    Does it make a difference which male plug your female Molex adapter plugs into? Thanks.
    #2
  3. AngryScot

    AngryScot .

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    18,439
    Location:
    ☼ Ca ☼
    yes, you want the diagnostic wire blue/green
    #3
  4. AngryScot

    AngryScot .

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    18,439
    Location:
    ☼ Ca ☼
    bump for the guy looking for this thread....... :D
    #4
  5. TUCKERS

    TUCKERS the famous james

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Oddometer:
    18,493
    Location:
    Villa Maria Sanitarium, Claremont, CA. USA
    Is that hot all the time or only when IGN is on?
    #5
  6. AngryScot

    AngryScot .

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    18,439
    Location:
    ☼ Ca ☼
    Only when ignition is on
    #6
  7. arrcrussell

    arrcrussell Gimme Dirt

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,157
    Location:
    NE OH, USA
    Sheesh - why didn't I think of that! Nice job!!
    #7
  8. mwhite5471

    mwhite5471 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Oddometer:
    207
    Location:
    AZ
    Awesome great post...whats the Amp rating of that connection?
    #8
  9. AngryScot

    AngryScot .

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    18,439
    Location:
    ☼ Ca ☼
    maybe someone knows, I have no clue :norton
    #9
  10. hammick

    hammick Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,295
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Any idea if any of those wires in the diagnostic plug are only hot when the bike is started?

    The new RT will not allow an HID or HID relay to be triggered from the low beam circuit. The Linbus dims the low beam when the high beam switch is activated.

    I had to trigger the relay from the 7.5a fuse feed wire under the seat. Now my headlight is on whenever the key is on and stays on for about 40 seconds after the bike is turned off. I kind of like the 40 second pathway lighting option I have now but I cannot turn on the bike to listen to the stereo in the garage without the headlight being on.
    #10
  11. AngryScot

    AngryScot .

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    18,439
    Location:
    ☼ Ca ☼
    One of them is, but i dont recal which, after a service the guy plugged it into a different one and it was hot all the time. Swapped it back and didnt look which sorry.
    #11
  12. EScott

    EScott Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Oddometer:
    64
    Location:
    Denver CO
    seems fairly brilliant! thanks for sharing.. :clap
    #12
  13. Chat Lunatique

    Chat Lunatique aka El Gato Loco

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,429
    Location:
    Niagara, Canada
    Doesn't matter, it's more than enough to power a relay. You only draw a few milliamps to power a trigger relay and should not use this connection point for anything else.
    #13
  14. LaurelPerryOnLand

    LaurelPerryOnLand Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,482
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Trigger a relay. OK.
    Power something else: NEVER DO IT.

    I won't ask you to read my thread about replacing a BATTERY and ALTERNATOR only to discover I didn't need to do.:huh
    I tried to POWER Hyperlites from the diagnostic plug...that set off a chain of events starting with a BATTERY WARNING LIGHT coming on. JVB got me back on the straight and narrow! :clap

    NEVER DO IT.
    #14
  15. mefly2

    mefly2 Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,235
    Location:
    Big Sky Country
    You are brilliant ... why didn't we (collectively) come up with that idea?
    Kudos to Angry Scot!
    #15
  16. hammick

    hammick Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,295
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri
    I put a test light on the wires in the diagnostic on my '14 R1200RTW. There are only four wires.

    One is ground, one is hot even with ignition off, and two do not carry power. No switched power in there.
    #16
  17. AngryScot

    AngryScot .

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Oddometer:
    18,439
    Location:
    ☼ Ca ☼
    Mine powers a relay not a light :dunno
    #17
  18. JurgenB

    JurgenB daily rider

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    458
    Location:
    Coloradio
    Minimal. All you can use it for is a line to power a relay. Also, the wire is not fused so if you overload it you will burn up the harnes $$$
    #18
  19. marchyman

    marchyman DR and GS Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Oddometer:
    11,408
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    The hexhead and the wethead use the same connector, but that's about all. Thats one of the reasons you cant use the GS-911 on a wethead.
    #19
  20. CVAN

    CVAN Polite as Fuck

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Oddometer:
    740
    Location:
    Reno,NV
    UPDATE:

    The .093" Molex connector didn't work for me; the diameter of the female Molex connector is considerably larger than that male pin in the diagnosis plug.

    I tried contacting several BMW dealerships to find the part number for the female socket, and every person I talked to...when I told them what I was doing...informed me that what I was doing was a bad idea. And no further help was forthcoming.

    I sent an email to Hexcode in South Africa, and they responded in pretty swift fashion with the info I needed.

    The BMW part number for the FEMALE socket is:
    12 52 1 744 075

    Hert&Buss Elparts part number is: 50253274088

    It's used in all kinds of connections in BMW cars and bikes, but a search of Max's parts fiche won't find it. If you Google the number, you'll find a number of places that will happily sell you a $1.50 connector and charge you $10.00 for shipping.

    I know there were a few others that couldn't make the .093" pin work, so I hope this helps.
    #20