1. eNewsletter Sign Up

Nuvi 500 - how to rejoin a custom route when off of it?

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by eakins, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. Mercury264

    Mercury264 Once you go Triple...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Oddometer:
    24,968
    Location:
    Masshole
    :lol3

    Love to meet a Garmin product manager/developer some day and ask him why their software is so shit :D
    #21
  2. eakins

    eakins Butler Maps

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Oddometer:
    35,440
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    oh it's 200. thnx.

    in this case it was bicimaps http://www.bicimapas.com.mx/MexicGPSAtlasEn.htm that i'm using. i have a license for each gps so i can create a route once (keeping it 50 and under points so it works on the 60) and load it on both units. the maps sync all the way around. i'm doing this anytime i travel any distance in my car or when we move to another place.


    #22
  3. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,944
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Have you seen what happens when you put via points on one side of a divided highway then reverse the route?
    #23
  4. eakins

    eakins Butler Maps

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Oddometer:
    35,440
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    good to know, so i don't find that out ready to leave and wondering how to reverse the route in my 500. thnx. i'll just invert the route w/ the saved .gdb file i have and resend it to the gps.

    once again this shows that nuvi's are really for someone who just plugging in an address or poi in the unit and saying take me there, not serious motorcycle tool.

    i ride with my 60 on my dr. i bought the 500 for use when i had a vstrom thinking i would use it on that bike but after playing with both, i would move my 60 to another bike if i own more than 1 bike in the future.
    the 500 is now just my car gps.

    do the zumos have all these limitations? touchscreen use is very appealing.
    #24
  5. eakins

    eakins Butler Maps

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Oddometer:
    35,440
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    that sounds like something ugly would occur.
    #25
  6. eakins

    eakins Butler Maps

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Oddometer:
    35,440
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    eh...tries to route back to the start.

    ...but i hit recalculate and then it worked. :ear

    is that the missing step for the 500? i never did that.
    #26
  7. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,944
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Define "it worked" :D Where did it try to lead you? I assume to the nearest via point in your route? :ear

    No way to hit recalculate on the Nuvi 500. I need to play with the "detour" function though.
    #27
  8. xymotic

    xymotic Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Oddometer:
    8,370
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    on a nuvi 500... nothing, it can't be done. Well, I mean you can manually re-order points and I imagine that makes a helluva mess.
    #28
  9. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,944
    Location:
    Nebraska
    My point was that Garmin probably didn't put this feature on for a reason. To many ways reversing a route can screw it up.

    I don't really see how useful it can be anyway. I see 2 scenarios:

    You are creating a custom route on your computer and you know in advance you are going to want to have it reversed. If that's the case, do it on the computer where it's much easier to see/correct any routing issues and upload your route both ways.

    You are simply autorouting from one place to another. If you want to reverse such a route, just hit your start point as a destination and let the unit route you there. If the routing preferences are the same, it should take you back the same way you came.

    :dunno
    #29
  10. tbirdsp

    tbirdsp REMF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,944
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Once again I typed before I checked it out:huh

    You can recalculate your current route on the Nuvi 500 - go to custom routes>current route>edit> recalculate.

    Looks like it does ignore all vias and take you straight to your destination though.
    #30
  11. eakins

    eakins Butler Maps

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Oddometer:
    35,440
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    yes and then continued on from there.
    since i use alot that was satisfactory...
    but then again maybe it was going only to the destination and the best way was overtop where my via points were.
    #31
  12. eakins

    eakins Butler Maps

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Oddometer:
    35,440
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    that's what i've been doing for out and back. create the route, name it & upload and then reverse, rename it and upload.

    #32
  13. eakins

    eakins Butler Maps

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Oddometer:
    35,440
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    good catch!!!
    i assumed detour was recalc on the 500 but you found another option.
    i'll have to check mine out.

    i guess in a pinch this is ok w/ me vrs routing back to the start.
    #33
  14. xymotic

    xymotic Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Oddometer:
    8,370
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    It will ignore any vias in-between

    Kinda important on a dirt route with 200+ vias

    And, pretty much EVERY other unit lets you reverse a route, they deliberately hobbled the 500 in that regard

    Sent from my VM670 using Tapatalk
    #34
  15. NordieBoy

    NordieBoy Armature speller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    7,241
    Location:
    Kiwiland
    Garmin re-badged it as the Zumo 200 for bikes...
    #35