Nuvi 500 Questions from a Noob

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by OhioAirhead, Aug 15, 2010.

1. OhioAirhead

OhioAirhead Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I'm sure this question has been asked a million times, so please bare with my noobness. I am new to the world of the GPS and have recently purchased a Nuvi 500.

Is it possible to map routes on my laptop using Google maps or an equivalent and download them to my Nuvi? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  2. tbirdsp

tbirdsp REMF

Oddometer:
    Why not use Garmin's Mapsource software?
  3. OhioAirhead

OhioAirhead Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I wasn't familiar with it. I'll look into it...thanks.
  4. tbirdsp

tbirdsp REMF

Oddometer:
    Make sure you register your Nuvi 500 at mygarmin.com within 60 days of the first time you turn it on. You should be eligible for a free map update download. This will update the maps on your GPS but it will also install Mapsource and the maps on your computer.
  5. TRZ Charlie

TRZ Charlie That's MR. Asshole

Oddometer:
    Download the Mapsource tutorial for begineers HERE.

And also the MapSource manual HERE

To maximize your experience on the 500 make sure you turn off all "avoidances" (tools/settings/navigation/avoidances/untick all/back button)

Also set the unit to "off road" when using it to navigate gravel and trails (tools/settings/navigation/route preference/off road/backbutton).
  6. OhioAirhead

OhioAirhead Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I appreciate the help. Thanks.
  7. tbirdsp

tbirdsp REMF

Oddometer:
    Whereabouts in NE Ohio are you? I'm originally from the Ashtabula area (Kingsville actually).
  8. OhioAirhead

OhioAirhead Adventurer

Oddometer: