1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

Opinion.... loaded topic

Discussion in 'Trials' started by Street Hawk, Jun 30, 2020.

1. Street Hawk

Street Hawk Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    So I am new to trials, background in both street and dirt. Bought an 09 EVO 290 this spring to see if I’d enjoy trials riding and I’ve been riding it for a couple months now. Great bike but a bit clapped out and looking at something newer. In particular a new EVO 200 and a 2015 Sherco st 300.
    Off the start, I could think learning the sport on the 200 might be much better for me. So I’m leaning that way. But would the 200 feel too small after a year or 2? I will be doing a lot of trail riding and climbing with it as well as challenging myself to improve my skills. I do wonder if the 300 will be too much to learn properly? I know my 290 was a fair bit of motor more than I needed but was great for trail riding with enduros. I also wonder if the 200 will feel too small.
    So basically, would those who ride em or know them think a 200 is going to feel to small to quick?

And yes, I do seem to be addicted to yet another two wheeled hobby. I love bikes. So many great ways to enjoy them.
  2. y4m4

y4m4 Calvin

Oddometer:
    If you see yourself developing into a "trials rider", then the 200 will probably be a better bike to ride for two years. If you see this as another two wheeled hobby, the 300 is probably better. Personally, I wish small bore bikes were easier to get used. For what it's worth, there are things you can do to take the edge off the Sherco: flywheel weight, slow action throttle, and low compression head are options that I know about.