OsmAnd/OsmAnd+

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by EmmEff, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    41,765
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    I know we are creatures of habit but you guys seriously doing yourselves a disservice by planning routes in Mapsource and Basecamp. Those two pieces of software will always be behind the curve compared to pretty much any other online resource.
    ohgood and CapeMan like this.
  2. 2old2Bbold

    2old2Bbold was 2bold2getold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Oddometer:
    3,824
    Location:
    Arlington, Texas
    So what's the best for off road (jeep trail/2 track) route planning ?
  3. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    41,765
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Currently my favorite is CalTopo. You can toggle between a series of very useful maps that can help you create excellent offroad tracks.

    Here's one I've worked on for a local rally:

    https://caltopo.com/m/MJ3Q
    2old2Bbold likes this.
  4. Buckee

    Buckee Scott

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Oddometer:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Neck of VA
    What's great is that there are now several to choose from that work well, and Garmin no longer has us by the balls.
    CapeMan, cyberdos and Antti like this.
  5. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    133
    I have recently found a "snap to road" setting in the GPX options but can't figure out how it works and what it does exactly. I was hoping it will calculate a proper route out if a GPX track and will navigate along without announcing every twist as a turn. Has anyone had any luck with it?
  6. Brutalguyracing

    Brutalguyracing Long timer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,908
    Location:
    Long Island New York
    thanks for the recommendations guyz
    i think furkot is the way to go for me
    planned a trip for this weekend
    i will report back
  7. crostad

    crostad n00b

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2
    Location:
    Milan, IT
    Hello everyone,

    I have been playing with Osmand+ settings for a while, tweaking them to my needs and I am quite happy about the result.
    There is one thing I can't fix and I hope you will help me solve it.

    I would like to display the same map style as the one displayed onto the openstreetmap.org website:

    osmweb.png

    As you can see there are different styles and different colors (grades) for streets, tracks and paths, whereas with the standard map style in Osmand+ there is no difference in color but only in style :

    osmand_std.png


    Playing with Osmand+ settings I selected the touring style, which is similar to the web version I am trying to get but still different:

    osmand_touring.png

    Does anyone know how to properly visualise the same map style of the osm website?
    Cheers,
    D.
  8. webmonstro

    webmonstro A Aventura Continua....

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    931
    Location:
    Portugal
    You need to change or create a new xml file that has the instructions in it to "tell" osmand to display this or that
    it's calld render.xml

    http://osmand.net/help/docs/Custom_Rendering_How-To.htm

    I played around with it a bit but never diged to deep . You might find a file made by someone that has the style you want, then just import it
  9. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Welp

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    22,411
    Location:
    Nippon
    What snap to road does is yank the direction cursor to the nearest road on your route, even when you are a bit off, I find it seriously annoying and never use it because it makes me miss turns.

    The announcing thing, is a tough one, its deciding turns by geometry. On Locus the way to beat that is to plot the track in app, vice importing...which is obviously impractical for multi-thousand mile/km routes.....but if you make it in app its near piss perfect on Locus.

    I haven't used the planner/plotter in OsmAnd really, I usually just kill the sound if it gets to annoying,
  10. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    133
    There are two "snap to road" options - one in navigation settings and one in GPX settings. You are talking about the former but I was asking about the latter.
  11. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Welp

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    22,411
    Location:
    Nippon
    @petertakov

    After you've done adding points, press 'Options'. There, you can try several convenient features:

    • Snap to roadthis function creates a route using all your points. You can set the car, bicycle or pedestrian mode, as usual
    • Save as new GPX track – allows you to save your measurments as a set of points or a line
    • Add to a GPX track – adds the line you've created (in a form of straight segments) to a GPX track of your choice
    • Clear all – removes all the points.
    http://osmand.net/features?id=measure-distance

    A setting in then planner/plotter, essentially the difference between plotting a track or a route.
    petertakov likes this.
  12. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    133
    @Tripped1

    Thank you - that is exactly how I was hoping it will work and avoid voice instructions and screen "on" at every twist of the GPX track I use. Unfortunately it makes absolutely no difference at all.

    Basecamp has an option to automatically calculate a route along a GPX track and I was hoping OSMand can do something similar.
  13. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Welp

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    22,411
    Location:
    Nippon
    Locus Pro, its OsmAnd on steroids, and if you plot in app the voice IS at intersections
  14. Cataract2

    Cataract2 Where to?

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    4,880
    Location:
    NH
    Wonder how long it might be before OSMAnd catches Locus?
  15. crostad

    crostad n00b

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2
    Location:
    Milan, IT
    Thank you webmonstro, I will look at that.
    What I don't get tho is the difference in default styles between the web version and the android app. How do I know which render is used onto the website?
    I'd prefer to avoid to customise or create my own render, I would like to use exactly the osm web one as I am keen to that style after all.

    Thanks,
    D.
  16. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    133
    Never - they seem to be moving in the opposite direction. OSMand is getting simpler and Locus is apparently getting more options and features.
  17. webmonstro

    webmonstro A Aventura Continua....

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    931
    Location:
    Portugal
    Try seachring the forums, the OSMAND development forum has a lot of info, mayby ask there, i've havent messed with it in a few years tbh, but i got some examples and found a lot of info on the google grupe
    try this:

    https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/osmand/B15t5obhars
  18. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Welp

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    22,411
    Location:
    Nippon
    Depends on what you mean by catch.

    Already OsmAnd has similar modes and profiles, routing options, overlay capability, recording, Osmand has a significantly better mapping engine, and it is significantly easier to learn/use though significantly worse file management and WAY WAY worse battery consumption....are kind of a bumber.....and Locus has the abiity to color code tracks so that you can use them quickly in teh event of reroutes and and road closures

    I tend to use OsmAnd when my wife is on the back as it can broadcast on the proper bluetooth channel to cut in over our intercoms
    I use Locus for basically everything else, because its basically a one stop shop, and its much more tweekable.
  19. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    133
    OSMand's power drain in navigation mode is dreadful. So muchmso that it drains the battery even with the phone constantly plugged i to a 2.4A charger. Since it doesn't happen with any of the other navigation apps I use, I consider this to be a serious bug in OSMand.
  20. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Welp

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    22,411
    Location:
    Nippon
    Indeed I am having the same issue and its a new thing, I have used OsmAnd nearly exclusively for entire two week trips without that issue.