OsmAnd/OsmAnd+

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by EmmEff, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,279
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    Replacing your charge port?
  2. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,416
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    No, it's not that far apart. I tried to copy the contents of a uSD in the phone to a larger card. I ended up with that larger card looking like 17MB. Should receive a new card and be able to download OsmAnd again soon.
  3. 2WheelieADV

    2WheelieADV Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,157
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    How do you work the screen with gloves?
  4. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,279
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    What device?
  5. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,934
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    With my fingers.
  6. 2WheelieADV

    2WheelieADV Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,157
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Smartphones don't respond to gloves
  7. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,934
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Weird. All my gloves have fingers that work just fine with all touchscreen devices, and my dedicated smartphone GPS has "glove mode"....sooooo....yeah, it responds just fine.
  8. 2WheelieADV

    2WheelieADV Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,157
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Ok I see
  9. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop ♦♦

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    48,541
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    You've been lucky. I can't get mine to work well at all with gloves. It works whenever it feels like it.
  10. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,934
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I refuse to buy gloves that don't support touch screen. Nearly any decent glove these days supports it.
  11. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,416
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    My Duraforce Pro works with some gloves and not others. I have not purchased any special gloves or glove treatments.

    My uninsulated motorcycle gloves work 100%

    My insulated motorcycle gloves work 0%

    Some insulated split-leather work gloves worked about 30% which was frustrating.
  12. cyberdos

    cyberdos Easy Bonus Loop ♦♦

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Oddometer:
    48,541
    Location:
    Queen Creek, AZ
    That's been my experience as well. After trying out several different gloves I was not able to get any of them to work 100% of the time. So I did this:

    [​IMG]

    Dollar store stylus and retractable lanyard clipped on to my hydration bag. Works a charm all the time.
  13. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Smoove, Smoove like velvet.

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    33,843
    Location:
    Nippon
    This depends on the gloves.

    My Held Air and Dry DO work in the air pocket, if my fingers are in the goretex pocket ...well good luck.

    My leather gauntlets both work fine

    That is across most of the Samsung S range going back to the S5, the two actives that I have even have a "glove" mode which is basically crazy sensitivity, like you can't use the screen without having gloves on.
  14. Albie

    Albie Kool Aid poisoner

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Oddometer:
    15,910
    Location:
    NWA
    I've found it depends on the phone. My Galaxy S5 worked just fine with gloves in glove mode. The DFP not nearly as well. The iPhones, forgetaboutit.
  15. Schmokel

    Schmokel Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Oddometer:
    17,699
    Location:
    Up. And to the right.
    I just dab the tip of my glove on my tongue real quick and I'm fine.
    RJAMT, csw1742 and PineLaneRider like this.
  16. tpchuckles

    tpchuckles Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2020
    Oddometer:
    205
    Location:
    Afton VA
    Is there a setting to hide certain path types? Eg, clearly I'm not going to motorcycle on the Appalachian Trail, but I am going to go on the fire roads that intersect it. And they'll be marked as having different surface types.

    Is there a way to control what shows up at various levels of zoom? I want to be able to zoom out a bit and still have all my beloved fire roads showing up.

    Edit: I suspect a custom xml map style or whatever it is would solve both problems. But gross! If anyone has alternative suggestions I'm all ears.
  17. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    958
    Does anyone know what "• Full GPX routes from Navigation support traffic lanes and complete turn instructions" in the 3.7.2 changelog stand for?
  18. Commiehunter

    Commiehunter Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Oddometer:
    807
    Which lane you need to be in to get your exit correct.
  19. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    958
    OSMand still can't connect the GPX track to the underlying map and so what does that have to do with lanes and turn instructions? It bassically considers any sharper twist in the track a turn.
  20. Commiehunter

    Commiehunter Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Oddometer:
    807
    I guess my assumption may be incorrect.