OsmAnd/OsmAnd+

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by EmmEff, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. petertakov

    petertakov Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Oddometer:
    958
    Or spot on - the changelog is an enigma :-)))
  2. Shawnee Bill

    Shawnee Bill Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,408
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Routes? It says routes, can Osmand do routes instead of tracks? If I tell it to route me somewhere I assumed it was using a route, not a track, in that case it does follow the map?
  3. Commiehunter

    Commiehunter Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Oddometer:
    807
    I've used osmand for routes where I didn't have good service and internationally. Pick a spot and ask for directions and go.

    Poster above was right, big difference between a gpx track where you're wanting to follow a line, and just letting the app pick how to get to a hotel in Mexico.
  4. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    10,827
    Location:
    Around Denver
    Bumping this one up since I've been experimenting with OsmAnd for the past few weeks. I'll be reading and doing more with it in the future.
  5. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    10,827
    Location:
    Around Denver
    Question: I have three different Android devices with OsmAnd on each.

    Has anyone here ever tried downloading map data into one device, and then sharing it with other devices? That is, if I have a slow internet connection--out in the boonies or wherever--I don't want to have to download maps/updates from the cloud three separate times. I'm hoping I can simply download what I want to one device, and then share it locally with my other two devices. Possible?
  6. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,934
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I can't remember if I have done that or not. I think it worked to just copy over my entire directory over Solid Explorer FTP.
  7. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    10,827
    Location:
    Around Denver
    I was looking at the directories last night, and though I'd have to sit down and figure out exactly which files to copy, it does seem rather straight-forward. I don't want to break anything, so I thought I'd ask first. I might give it a go this afternoon.

    I also looked at the map data for Magic Earth and Sygic. It looks like Magic Earth should be able to share map data, but Sygic looked a little complicated.

    If I try it on OsmAnd, I'll report back my results.

    Jamie
    DittyBag and flamingm0e like this.
  8. Madmartigan

    Madmartigan Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Oddometer:
    20
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Yes, I have done this.

    On Android, the directory for the maps can be found at: Internal Storage/Android/data/net.osmand.plus/files
    Baroquenride, Jamie Z and flamingm0e like this.
  9. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    10,827
    Location:
    Around Denver
    I have maps, elevation, slopes, and Wikipedia files... but it does look like everything is there in the files folder.
  10. houlster

    houlster Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Oddometer:
    392
    Location:
    AZ
    How do you get the motorcycle profile? I had it at one time, but it's been 6 - 8 months since I used it & now I can't find it. It seems to have reset or something. My screen config is back to standard, etc and the motorcyle profile isn't there anymore.
  11. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,934
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Hmm. You're right. It appears to be missing
  12. Tripped1

    Tripped1 Smoove, Smoove like velvet.

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    33,843
    Location:
    Nippon
    Possible yes.

    There are a ton of apps like side sync, that allow you to connect two phones by wifi and transfer files between them. There are NFC apps that do similar.

    Here is an FTP service app
    https://www.cnet.com/how-to/transfer-data-wirelessly-to-your-android-device/

    or Bluetooth
    https://www.lifewire.com/bluetooth-file-transfer-4147725



    etc. etc.
  13. gavmac

    gavmac Long timer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,099
    Location:
    Boonah, Qld, AU
    You used to have to turn on the development plugin, but since the last versions 3.6/3.7 I think, you configure a new profile based on another base profile, change what you want & save it.
    flamingm0e likes this.
  14. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1,934
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Yeah. I was messing with my devices last night and found that I still had motorcycle profile on my Ulefone and my tab active 2.
    gavmac likes this.
  15. houlster

    houlster Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Oddometer:
    392
    Location:
    AZ
    Yep, got it set up again. :freaky
    gavmac likes this.
  16. Madmartigan

    Madmartigan Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Oddometer:
    20
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    On Android, you can add new profiles by accessing the settings under the side menu (3 lines, lower left). Scroll to the bottom and select "New Profile". You have to select "Driving", rename if you wish and select the motorcycle icon.
    Additionally, you can import profiles if you are transferring to a new device under the "New Profile", "Import Profile", "Edit Profile" option.
    dflow, flamingm0e and Suncoaster like this.
  17. gavmac

    gavmac Long timer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,099
    Location:
    Boonah, Qld, AU
    Laconic and Suncoaster like this.
  18. Laconic

    Laconic Boomer Berserker Nativist Rube

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    28,692
    Location:
    Moran Nation
    Danged if I can figure out how to update. Play Store says it's installed but the version on my phone says 2.9.3

    Yes, I'm old.
  19. gavmac

    gavmac Long timer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,099
    Location:
    Boonah, Qld, AU
    Forgive me if this is teaching you to suck eggs!

    When you go into the play store, touch the hamburger icon on the top left next to the search box, a section will slide in, select My app & games, it should then check for available updates.
    OsmAnd or OsmAnd + should then show up as an available update.
  20. Laconic

    Laconic Boomer Berserker Nativist Rube

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    28,692
    Location:
    Moran Nation
    No offense, I'm a Luddite. For instance, I didn't know the menu button was called a hamburger.

    OsmAnd does not show up when I do as you suggest, even though it's fully functional on the phone. It's stored on the SD card and the file name is "net.osmand.plus" and doesn't even show up in my file manager until I search for it.

    I wonder if the "net" at the front of the file name is hiding it somehow. And if I rename it, will all be lost...